We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mountain Quest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mountain Quest
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Mountain Quest to your Saves list
303 Mountain Quest Lane, Marlinton, WV   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Vinton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just echoing the previous excellent reviews... this place is wonderful! From the setting, to the keepers and managers of the inn, to the wonderful food, to the beautiful animals... everything was amazing! We stayed two nights as a family of five, and my daughters are already asking when we can go back to Mountain Quest and see the horses.

I am always hesitant to take my children to "inn" and "bed & breakfast" type places because the environment is not typically suited for children and/or large families, but I was assured that was not the case for the Inn at Mountain Quest. And boy were they right... the children (ages 10, 6, and 2) loved the place, and were made to feel right at home! There was plenty for the children to do, and not get in the way of (or bother) the other guests (couples/non-families) that were also staying in the inn.

We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

They have a sign that says "Come in Stangers and leave friends," and we certainly did. Alex, David and Andy have created a wonderful sanctuary where one can go to clear your head and lift your spirit. The staff of Mountain Quest went above and beyond. (We even had a special moment with Alex.) *Note to travelers: no cell service in nearly all of Pocahantas county and internet is not consistant. This is a place to unplug!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We cannot begin to express our love for Mountain Quest. Our first stay occurred earlier this week - and we are already planning our next trip. Alex and David are wonderful hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt at home - we had not eaten all day due to our hectic schedule - so the first thing that happened after we checked in was an impromptu dinner offer of "leftovers." Not just any leftovers though - these were tasty items of distinction made by Chef Andrew (son of Alex) that Alex pulled from the fridge. We filled our tummies and chatted with our hosts. We had fun in the library (amazing! Some trivia - this library is part of the WV library system) and played games in the game room that had EVERYTHING from games to movies, to a small bar with beverages. Everything is on the honor system -- there are items of convenience at the inn that have small fees or are just plain complimentary.

We then retreated to our room. We stayed in the Scholar's Corner room -- which was tastefully appointed with scholarly-themed items. The highlight of the room though was the amazing king-sized bed. It was a bit of heaven. So comfy - we both agreed that it was the best night of sleep we had all week after being on the road throughout the state of WV. We were truly a part of nature that night - listening to the outdoor concert of nighttime creatures as they coaxed us into our slumber-like state.

Morning arrived with a hot and hearty delicious breakfast, followed by a fun and educational tour of the farm. We were so lucky to be able to participate in the morning farm chores with Alex and David. They have a wonderful menagerie of animals -- horses, mini-horses, llamas, goats, a sheep, and cats -- that all lovingly co-exist together and seem to just love living at Mountain Quest as well.

We checked out and bid farewell to our new friends. We chatted all the way to our next desitination about our experience at Mountain Quest. Alex, David, and staff are class acts. They are intelligent, warm and caring folks -- that you just don't find everywhere.

Whatever you do -- make it a point to get to Frost, WV sometime -- go visit the Green Bank Telescope/NRAO Center and Snowshoe -- and then retire for a peaceful evening of solitude at Mountain Quest. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We peeked into several of the rooms --- they all look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I don't believe there is a thing I can add that has not already been said about the hosts, the inn, the food and the relaxation found in this wonderful treasure in one of the prettiest valleys in WV that I have ever seen. Go find out for yourself - you will not be disappointed. You are treated like family or a long lost friend.

Room Tip: The Fantasy Room was wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City IA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Mountain Quest Inn is located in Frost, W. Va. This is a place to come to to explore the beautiful countryside , visit the Green Bank Observatory, etc. The rooms are unique and lend themselves to each person's interests. Be forewarned that this area does not allow cell phones or other electronic devices....due to the observatory. If you want peace and quiet along with exploring the area, this is ideal. It is a RETREAT. The owners are amazing and offer much in their expertise. We loved the time to be in the mountains with peace and time to reflect and to explore the beauty of this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love this inn and it is perfect! The innkeepers ate friendly and make you feel very welcomed! We stayed in the Safari Room which was african safari themed! The breakfast each morning qas delicious and you can even have dinner made for you as well! It is located in a quiet zone meaning you will not have cellphone service but the idea is perfect and you should enjoy rhe peacefulness instead of being on your cellphone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Mountain Quest Inn is located in Frost Va surronded by beautiful mountain scenery. The owners are very very friendly, and make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The Inn is one of a kind, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Also the buffet for breakfast and dinner is delicious and they use linen and silver. We also enjoyed riding up to Snowshow Resort to spend the day, only about 45 minutes away.It was a perfect weekend, and the only suggestion i would give is to take snacks and a cooler for drinks, because there are no stores close by.

Room Tip: The Fantasy Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Mountain Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain Quest

Address: 303 Mountain Quest Lane, Marlinton, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those looking to relax in a quiet country setting. More than just a Bed & Breakfast, our Inn is unique to the area with a modern wing of twelve individually themed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The luxury accommodations offer an array of amenities to guests. The 450 acre farm is centrally located in Pocahontas county and surrounded by National Forests and amazing local attractions. An overnight stay includes a heartycountry breakfast either served or tempting buffet.Mountain Quest also welcomes conferences, groups, retreats,family reunions, weddings and special occasions both large and small. • Community room featuring a bar, large screen TV, billiard table and fireplace • Four story, glass-domed Observation tower • Jacuzzi & Sauna • 23,000 volume Library • Labyrinth • Hiking trails • Farm tour - "Meet & Greet the Animals" horses, llamas, goats and longhorn cattle ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mountain Quest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.