We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to Snowshoe for skiing. Our ski passes and lodging package started the next day and we wanted an economical place to stay that was nearby. Check-in went smoothly and we were given an upgraded room, which was a nice surprise. The room was on the small size but very comfortable and was exactly what we needed after driving all day. We had use of the common areas. We ordered pizza from the Snak Shak just down the road and relaxed with a drink in the living room w/ fireplace. In the morning, they served coffee/tea/juice and had oatmeal, some breads, cereal, and fruit. The next day it took us about a half hour to get to Snowshoe. There was another guest who was staying here who had a lift ticket on, so he found it convenient enough to ski at snowshoe during the day and stay at this B&B at night.
It is more of an economy B&B (smaller rooms, continental vs. hot breakfast) with all the comfort and charm of higher end B&B's. We will definitely stay again next year during our annual Snowshoe trip and highly recommend the Old Clark Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
34
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Our room #7 on second floor was small/cozy; we did not bring in all our luggage. The size of the room was not a problem for us. This is a private home not a chain hotel so we did not expect large rooms. On first floor is a living room and dining room for use of guests. Dining room has a refrigerator for guest use. I really enjoyed my stay there. If I ever return to Marlinton again, and if the Old Clark Inn maintains its standard, I would stay there again. My main criteria for a lodging and/or restaurant are that it be smoke -free and clean. Happily, the Old Clark Inn met both criteria. Once in Marlinton, we were able to walk to the Court House and the Greenbrier Trail. The Old Clark Inn was a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed here for two days while enjoying the West Virginia back roads on our motorcycles. This place is definitely motorcycle friendly, there was even covered parking for our bikes, and everything we needed to clean them up after a ride on wet roads. The rooms were quiet, very clean and comfortable. The low rates make it an almost unbelievable value. All the tripadvisor reviews I read were right on. This is THE place to stay in Marlinton for motorcyclists, bicyclists and anyone else looking for a clean, quiet, comfortable place to recoup after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We had just signed up for 1 night and ended up staying 5. We wanted someplace close to the Greenbriar Bike trail and this fit the bill. Best location and best value all along the 80 mile trail. Clean, neat, most everything anticipated and available for the traveler. Fridge, microwave, grill, comfortable bed, quiet. This would be our pick again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My wide and best friend were cycling the river trail and chose the Inn for our overnight. The Innkeepers Nelson and Andrea were friendly and hard working. We came off the trail tired, sore, and hoping that our room was going to be adequate. We had been warned that due to our late booking all that was left was a small room. It suited us just fine! Our friend had to take a bed in the Hostel area and it happened he had the place to himself and loved it. Breakfast was wonderful and ample. Lots of pastries, cereal, fresh fruit that was out of this world, and lots of very good coffee. They made sure our bikes were in a safe area and we could not have asked for anything else. After a hard day biking I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I recently stayed at the Old Clark with a group of friends that meet up annually for a motorcycle trip. This was the cleanest place we've stayed in years. It offerred rooms ranging in prices that gave everyone an option they were comfortable with. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful. They worked with us and provided supplies for us to grill out and even lined up some help for a friend whose bike broke down while on the trip.

We'll certainly be back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Well, another year at the OCI and no different of an experience. Wonderful accomodations, great guests, amazing porch, excellent breakfast and MUCH more to do than you think in the neighborhood. Do you need to lower your blood pressure? Do you need a stress reliever? Do you need a peaceful getaway? Marlinton, WV and the OCI is the place. Great places to have breakfast....nice lunch spots close by and pick up a few steaks and cook it on the OCI grill!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
14.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 4 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
15.3 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
13.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.