We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cozy and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, cozy and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Old Clark Inn is the best place to stay in Marlenton, WV. The inn keepers are very friendly, knowlageble and aim to please. The inn is clean, cozy and homey. If you are looking for luxery you probably won't be in Marlington. This was my 3rd stay and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
34
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Arrived at the Old Clark Inn after a long soggy day of motorcycling across West Virginia. We were greeted at the door by Andrea and welcomed into the warm, clean and homey inn. Andrea immediately invited us to use the dryer to get our riding gear and wet clothes dry then showed us around the place.
The rooms aren't huge, but are comfortable and spacious enough for stowing luggage and resting. Bathrooms are clean and easily accessible.
We chatted for a bit with Nelson, the other innkeeper, that evening and the next morning. He shared some great route advice for our ride. We told motorcycling stories and again felt very welcomed.
During the evening we sat in the living room and chatted with some fellow visitors. My dad and I took advantage of the free wi-fi to catch up on email and look at possible routes.
In the morning Andrea prepared a pleasant continental breakfast complete with yogurt, fruit, cereal, scones and coffee.
Not only will I go back, but I am trying to figure out a way to get back immediately. Thank you Andrea and Nelson!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

A very nice, very quiet inn that is perfect for the daytime bicyclist/adventurer. The manager provides an option to drop you and your bike North or South of the Inn on the Greenbriar trail and can recommend good restaurants in the area not because he gets a kickback, but because they are places he enjoys. Great Inn!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My wife and I were the only guests the one night we stayed. Nelson is a very attentive and personable host. We found our room to be very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was just what we wanted and the coffee was delicious.
I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights on our annual motorcycle trip. The Inn was very clean and the innkeepers, Nelson & Andrea were very friendly and made us feel right at home. Our room was impeccabbly clean and nicely furnished with an antique sleigh bed. Nelson was very helpful in helping us plan our day trips. The Inn is very motorcycle friendly with an overhang for bikes and a wide selection of cleaning materials, covers and security cameras. We ate at one of the few restaurants in town, The Greenbrier Restaurant, which was good basic food at a good price. Despite the fact that the town has seen better days, it is very clean and inviting. Marlinton is a good central base location for exploring West Virginia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

I arrived at the inn on my motorcycle around 6 PM absolutely drenched from the rain. The dryer was a Godsend, and Andrea, who checked me in, couldn't have been more sympathetic. Nelson offered to make sure my boots were dry by morning. The room was everything I could ask for. The amenities of the living room, dining room and front porch were greatly appreciated as it was raining the next day, too, and I decided to stay over an extra night. The breakfast was more than I expected, and I felt well fed after eating in the morning. Finding that they had free internet was a very welcome surprise.

The town wasn't much, except for the small museum which I enjoyed. Marlinton wasn't my destination so I didn't bother to explore it. There are only a couple of places to eat--neither of which offer fine dining. I did enjoy my hamburger at the cafe just down the street from the inn, though.

The inn is VERY motorcycle friendly. I was the only bike there when I checked in but there were a dozen motorvcyclists staying there when I checked out two days later.

I will definitely stay there again the next time I am riding down that way. I recommend it for anybody,

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I have stayed here 3 times now and have enjoyed each visit. Rooms are fine...Hosts are perfect..not intrusive but available...breakfast is ok, cereal,boiled eggs, pastry etc. coffee,milk,juice.....good internet access..Very authentic appalachain town/setting. great bike trails...liquor store..dairy queen...greenbrier river access...Clarks is very affordable especially if travelling alone and renting single room. I have @ 45 dollar limit or I will go camping!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
14.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
13.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.