We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do You Like Good Old Fashioned Hospitality?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save Saved
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do You Like Good Old Fashioned Hospitality?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

There are limitations in the age of the building but that is part of the appeal. If you expect a large room with a big screen TV and a pool then time to go pay more than double and head a half hour north to Snowshoe.
First let's start with the location. Your cell phone will not work. Maybe if you have AT&T and some TRAC phones. The rest of us give up but you can make free phone calls. There is free Wi Fi so your tablet and phone can be used. This is right beside the Greenbrier bicycle trail and some of the best motorcycling roads to be found. The proprietor can tell you the good roads as he rides also. There is a decent continental breakfast. Nothing fancy but good. The room is small but spotlessly clean and well maintained. Sitting on the front porch you can have a nice conversation with other guests or the owner if he has time to sit down. Between him and his wife they are kept busy.
As for your bike it gets covered parking for a limited number of bikes depending on how friendly you want them to be. A hose and towels are there to wipe them off.

Room Tip: Rooms come in private bath or shared. Make sure you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for telling it like it is and we really wish we did have more time to sit on the porch and chat with our guests--it’s the best part of being an innkeeper-- but being busy is a good thing I guess! Looking forward to your next visit and a little more porch time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
31
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was traveling by motorcycle, touring the great roads around WV, and staying at the Inn for two nights was a great experience. The couple that runs the place were really friendly and helpful, and I really appreciated how they cater to motorcyclists.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for the review and thanks for choosing to stay with us. As motorcyclists and bicyclists ourselves, we enjoy passing along our knowledge and experience of the area to our 2-wheeled travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Old Clark Inn is perfect for us two-wheel travelers to the Marlinton area. In our case, this was a motorcycle trip to Cass and to ride the area backroads. The location of the Inn is perfect for this but we quickly realized that it's also perfect for bicyclists riding the Greenbriar Trail (there were several groups staying over the Memorial Day weekend). Nelson and Andrea go way out their way to make sure that motorcyclists and bicyclists have everything they need and they sincerely want you to have a good time. The Inn is a historic and mostly original hotel so there is lots to appreciate there as well. And no, it's not the Ritz Carlton and those of you pampered Elites who are slamming the place in the reviews obviously didn't read the website very carefully. Good grief... learn how to read and lighten up. You get more than you were promised at this Inn and so the value is outstanding. We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you--for reminding people to look at the website. We have put a lot of time and effort into the website so that you would know what to expect. And we are always happy to make recommendations if the Old Clark is not what you are looking for.
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was my 4th visit to the Old Clark Inn, and I always love coming back to visit. It's very reasonably priced, and the folks who run it take very good care of the building and the guests. The place is spotlessly clean, and the decor is homey with nice pictures and knick-knacks around the common areas. They welcome bikers--both motorcyclists and bicyclists will be treated with warm friendliness and accommodated well. If you're into pedaling, the Greenbrier River Trail is fantastic, and it's just a block away!

Although it's called an inn, it's really a B&B. The front door has a keypad lock, and each room has its own key-locking door. Some rooms have private bathrooms and/or TVs, but others don't. Each room is unique so you need to be sure to specify what you want and need when making a reservation. It's a creaky old building so don't be surprised if the stairs/doors/floors squeak. All part of the charm. The landscaping outside is very pretty, and I got to see hummingbirds on the porch.

Breakfast is served in the common room from 7:30 to 8:30. They typically have fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, toast, coffee, and juice.

The only thing I don't like about the Old Clark Inn is the showers. They have those ultra-low-flow shower heads that barely spray enough water to rinse the shampoo from your hair. Otherwise, the place is great, and I'm sure I'll be back again soon!

One word of warning about dining in Marlinton: There are only a couple of restaurants in town, and most of them close at 8 PM (along with just about everything else in town). Don't plan to eat a late dinner, or you'll be eating pizza from the gas station.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have shared bathrooms and some don't have TVs so just be sure to ask what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We, and your fellow travelers, thank you for posting the detailed and accurate information--this is what TripAdvisor is all about. That particular shower was the only one with that type of shower head and we did find a problem with it. So on your recommendation, we have replaced it with a standard one. Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This old B&B is a wonderful hideout for those wanting quiet, a nice room, great prices, and a really wonderful husband/wife host. Modest breakfast provided consisting of several cereals, fruit, and an assortment of scones. Fantastic coffee, orange juice, and real dishes, etc. Only two blocks from Greenbrier River trail. Very safe, and worth the stay...if you want simple, but very adequate experience.

Room Tip: first floor has several rooms with baths, and the second. The third is for single bed, not bath....t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let others know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend during our trip to snowshoe. At first glance, we didn't know what to exactly expect because this wasn't a chain hotel but we were both very delighted at the amazing rates, location, and service. The house is cleaner than some chain hotels I've stayed at. We did not know that a continental breakfast was provided each morning (fresh-baked scones), coffee and orange juice.

The two tenants, Nelson and Andrea, are generous hosts who can be reached at any time during your stay. The Old Clark Inn is apparently about to become a landmark as one of the oldest businesses (if not the oldest) that has lasted in its area. The location of the Old Clark Inn is great in terms of walking to local diners and to different nature trails for walking and bicycling.

My girlfriend & I definitely recommend people to come here, the service was beyond excellent and Nelson & Andrea are much more personable than your clerks at a Best Western. Excellent trip and stay, we're looking forward to coming back in the summer! If you have issues with temperature you can easily adjust the thermostat and fan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for travelers like yourselves who are willing to try something different and we are so glad you were pleased with our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I just would like to warn people that they turn the heat off at night. My friend and I woke up in the middle of the night and were so cold that we slept the rest of the night in our hats! If my nephew was there he would have cried it was so cold and miserable. So if you have kids and its winter find another place. We told the owner at checkout and she just said that they have the heat on timers and it clicks off at night and comes back on in the morning. She said we should have called her (3:30 am), but didn't offer any type of discount. oh and the breakfast was just scones and coffee. February of 2014.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
“TripAdvisor encourages travelers to take the whole of a property’s reviews into account when judging it. If most other reviews are positive, travelers are likely to see a negative as a mere aberration.” While TripAdvisor is intended to provide travelers with useful, albeit subjective information, please “BEWARE” that this may or may not be a reviewer’s motive.

Obviously, we do not “turn the heat off” at night in February when the temperature is in the teens and we are filled almost to capacity. The furnace is on a thermostat, and the temperature is reduced by 3 degrees overnight to maintain what most people would consider a comfortable sleeping temperature. Rooms also have additional electric heat, which we noticed this guest did not fully utilize.

There is a direct phone line that rings to our living quarters, and we are available 24/7 to attend to our guests needs, yet this guest chose not to notify us and let us remedy the situation.

Of course, we did feel badly that a guest may have had an uncomfortable night and we did offer a sincere apology. Honestly, it just did not occur to us that she was expecting a discount for something that she did not deem important enough to tell us about until checkout, when it was too late to rectify it.

We do not know her nephew, or what might cause him to cry, so we will not comment on this dramatic digression. And yes, free coffee, juice and scones are available for our guests during the winter months (and an expanded continental is available in the summer) as stated on our website.

Again, we hope those shopping for lodging in our area will follow TripAdvisor’s advice and consider the complete picture that is presented by over 60 reviews spanning an 8 year time period. And thank you for taking the time to read this response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.