We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bicycling Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Northern PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was my 4th visit to the Old Clark Inn, and I always love coming back to visit. It's very reasonably priced, and the folks who run it take very good care of the building and the guests. The place is spotlessly clean, and the decor is homey with nice pictures and knick-knacks around the common areas. They welcome bikers--both motorcyclists and bicyclists will be treated with warm friendliness and accommodated well. If you're into pedaling, the Greenbrier River Trail is fantastic, and it's just a block away!

Although it's called an inn, it's really a B&B. The front door has a keypad lock, and each room has its own key-locking door. Some rooms have private bathrooms and/or TVs, but others don't. Each room is unique so you need to be sure to specify what you want and need when making a reservation. It's a creaky old building so don't be surprised if the stairs/doors/floors squeak. All part of the charm. The landscaping outside is very pretty, and I got to see hummingbirds on the porch.

Breakfast is served in the common room from 7:30 to 8:30. They typically have fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, toast, coffee, and juice.

The only thing I don't like about the Old Clark Inn is the showers. They have those ultra-low-flow shower heads that barely spray enough water to rinse the shampoo from your hair. Otherwise, the place is great, and I'm sure I'll be back again soon!

One word of warning about dining in Marlinton: There are only a couple of restaurants in town, and most of them close at 8 PM (along with just about everything else in town). Don't plan to eat a late dinner, or you'll be eating pizza from the gas station.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have shared bathrooms and some don't have TVs so just be sure to ask what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We, and your fellow travelers, thank you for posting the detailed and accurate information--this is what TripAdvisor is all about. That particular shower was the only one with that type of shower head and we did find a problem with it. So on your recommendation, we have replaced it with a standard one. Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
29
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This old B&B is a wonderful hideout for those wanting quiet, a nice room, great prices, and a really wonderful husband/wife host. Modest breakfast provided consisting of several cereals, fruit, and an assortment of scones. Fantastic coffee, orange juice, and real dishes, etc. Only two blocks from Greenbrier River trail. Very safe, and worth the stay...if you want simple, but very adequate experience.

Room Tip: first floor has several rooms with baths, and the second. The third is for single bed, not bath....t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let others know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend during our trip to snowshoe. At first glance, we didn't know what to exactly expect because this wasn't a chain hotel but we were both very delighted at the amazing rates, location, and service. The house is cleaner than some chain hotels I've stayed at. We did not know that a continental breakfast was provided each morning (fresh-baked scones), coffee and orange juice.

The two tenants, Nelson and Andrea, are generous hosts who can be reached at any time during your stay. The Old Clark Inn is apparently about to become a landmark as one of the oldest businesses (if not the oldest) that has lasted in its area. The location of the Old Clark Inn is great in terms of walking to local diners and to different nature trails for walking and bicycling.

My girlfriend & I definitely recommend people to come here, the service was beyond excellent and Nelson & Andrea are much more personable than your clerks at a Best Western. Excellent trip and stay, we're looking forward to coming back in the summer! If you have issues with temperature you can easily adjust the thermostat and fan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for travelers like yourselves who are willing to try something different and we are so glad you were pleased with our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I just would like to warn people that they turn the heat off at night. My friend and I woke up in the middle of the night and were so cold that we slept the rest of the night in our hats! If my nephew was there he would have cried it was so cold and miserable. So if you have kids and its winter find another place. We told the owner at checkout and she just said that they have the heat on timers and it clicks off at night and comes back on in the morning. She said we should have called her (3:30 am), but didn't offer any type of discount. oh and the breakfast was just scones and coffee. February of 2014.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
“TripAdvisor encourages travelers to take the whole of a property’s reviews into account when judging it. If most other reviews are positive, travelers are likely to see a negative as a mere aberration.” While TripAdvisor is intended to provide travelers with useful, albeit subjective information, please “BEWARE” that this may or may not be a reviewer’s motive.

Obviously, we do not “turn the heat off” at night in February when the temperature is in the teens and we are filled almost to capacity. The furnace is on a thermostat, and the temperature is reduced by 3 degrees overnight to maintain what most people would consider a comfortable sleeping temperature. Rooms also have additional electric heat, which we noticed this guest did not fully utilize.

There is a direct phone line that rings to our living quarters, and we are available 24/7 to attend to our guests needs, yet this guest chose not to notify us and let us remedy the situation.

Of course, we did feel badly that a guest may have had an uncomfortable night and we did offer a sincere apology. Honestly, it just did not occur to us that she was expecting a discount for something that she did not deem important enough to tell us about until checkout, when it was too late to rectify it.

We do not know her nephew, or what might cause him to cry, so we will not comment on this dramatic digression. And yes, free coffee, juice and scones are available for our guests during the winter months (and an expanded continental is available in the summer) as stated on our website.

Again, we hope those shopping for lodging in our area will follow TripAdvisor’s advice and consider the complete picture that is presented by over 60 reviews spanning an 8 year time period. And thank you for taking the time to read this response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Upon the recommendation of friends, we decided last minute to go see the
gorgeous foliage in W. Virginia and they had yrs before stayed at the
Clark Inn so we decided to book a room. It was reasonable for last minute
didn't even KNOW it included breakfast till we got there so that was a nice
surprise, so was the fresh fruit plate including raspberries/pineapple/apples/grapes
Bed was comfortable and all was quiet .......best thing walking distance to the
greenbriar trail for walking or biking, walk also to the Dirt Bean for lunch/dinner
or homemade ice cream.......we shall return next spring..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and we loved how you guys just “clicked” with the place and with the other guests. It was a pleasure meeting real, down to earth travelers like yourselves. See you in the spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Recently my cycling partner and I spent four glorious fall days on West Virginia's premier rail-trail along the Greenbrier River. Looking back, I'd say that the beautiful people we met even surpassed the spectacular scenery. Topping our list of new acqaintances are Nelson and Andrea, our hosts at the Old Clark Inn in Marlinton, WV. Literally a stone's throw fom the trail, the Old Clark Inn provided three quiet restfull evenings, a variety of morning pre-trail nourish-ment, secure covered bicycle parking, and bargain weekday rates which enabled us to spread our vacation dollars to some of the area's other beautiful attractions. On our last day, halfway between Marlinton and the southern trailhead, we were horrified to discover that we had forgot-ten the truck keys in our room at the Old Clark Inn. Nelson drove 100 miles roundtrip on the very curvy highway 219 in the dark to bring our keys to the trailhead! You can't get this kind of personal care at the large hotel chains......or anywhere that I know of. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Travelers like these, who appreciate the uniqueness of the area and of our inn, are the reason we purchased the inn and the reason we are still happily doing this 10 years later. We are so glad to hear how much they enjoyed the Greenbrier River Trail, one of the top rated trails in the country, and glad that the experience was enhanced by their stay with us. Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were in town to ride the Greenbrier Trail. We wanted to stay three nights but the "road kill festival" was going on. I was told only Saturday night was available. We stayed at The Carriage House (very nice but expensive and 8 miles away) the first two nights and went into town. The first impression was all the rules. No food in room, no maid service, wash your own dishes and put away and many more. Lots of notes stuck all over with more rules. The owner at check in was very nice but not wanting to talk very much. Several times she referred to her phone if we had question. We never saw her again until she put out breakfast promptly at 7:30. She was then gone, not to be seen again. The room was very small with a very short bed. Very small TV, and a shared bathroom in the hall. Great location in town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Once again, we do go out of our way to explain what we are and what to expect. We even have a page on our website on entitled “What To Expect”, because we know that we are unique and not for everyone, and the last thing we want is to disappoint someone.

Most of our rooms have queen size beds and private baths, but the reviewer chose to reserve a very small room with a (standard length) full size bed and a hall bath. Whether it was their budget preference or the last room available, it was known to them in advance.

While it is true that we prefer rules to chaos, guests like this who are unaccustomed to different situations, prove that notes are necessary and helpful. Most are simply tips and directions to make sure everyone is comfortable. If we were nothing more than a front desk, a hallway and a room (like a typical chain hotel) there would be no need for notes. For example, unlike a hotel, we provide you with wine glasses, dinnerware and other amenities (and if you do not want to wash your own dishes, we also provide disposables).

As we tell you on our website, your innkeepers are always available, but we will not be hovering over you. Running a busy inn requires non-stop work and we also have lives to live, plus we assume that you did not come all the way to Pocahontas County, WV to hang out with us.

Please don’t decide to stay with us based entirely on our location and price, as these folks did. If you are looking for a standard chain hotel or to be fawned over at a fancy B&B, then you probably should “Go elsewhere” as this reviewer dictates. But if you’re looking for a unique affordable lodging experience call us--and if you are not comfortable with what we have to offer, we would be happy to help you find something more suitable. We are familiar with all the area lodging options and can make recommendations, we do this all the time.

“Read the package: if you do not like what’s in the “Chunky Monkey” don’t eat it and then complain about it, just get yourself a nice bowl of vanilla instead.”
--Anonymous Traveler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
;