We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay at Marlinton, WV is The Old Clark Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
A Bargain Near Snowshoe!
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Pa
1 review
“Best Place to stay at Marlinton, WV is The Old Clark Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My husband and I, along with 5 other friends, stayed at the Old Clark Inn at Marlinton, WV. the last weekend of Sept 2008. We had planned to bicycle the Greenbrair River trail. We found the accommadations to be very pleasant, comfortable, clean. But the Innkeepers made our visit very special. It rained all day Saturday for our bike ride. Every piece of clothing we were wearing was soaked. There were washer and dryers for us to use. We did not have to worry about where we were going to put all of our wet clothes. They also let use use newspaper to help dry our sneakers and then had a fan blowing over then all night. It was amazing. We had dry clothes and DRY sneakers for the next day. They went above and beyond my expectations to help us be comfortable to ride our bikes over 150 miles.
The rooms were just like home. The breakfast was feast for kings (which helped give us energy for the bike ride) The front porch was great at night to relax. The back yard also had benches and tables for us to use.
I am looking forward to the nexr visit at the Old Clark Inn.
I recommend this Inn to everyone
Joyce and Roger McRae, Montgomery, Pa

  • Liked — The Inn keepers
  • Disliked — The road gettig there
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
31
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I were excited to stay at this Inn. It sounded lovely, walking distance to town, etc. Our room was very small and I knew that it was going to be. The bathroom had a high step and the sink was in the bedroom. The disappointment was finding our bed unmade and towels not replaced when we returned from our outing. The continental breakfast was very sparse. (We ate at a nearby restaurant). The town had seen better days. We didn't see one shop that was opened. Everything that the owners advertised on their website was exaggerated. We never saw the dog. I heard the dog bark once and heard the patter of his feet once. We will not go back to Pocahantas County. We left earlier than planned and had to pay a large cancellation fee.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2008
“Our room was very small and I knew that it was going to be.”
We made a point of explaining that it was a smaller room and that options were limited on the dates requested as we are often full that time of year.
“The bathroom had a high step and the sink was in the bedroom.”
The Old Clark was built in 1924, when sinks in the room were the norm and bathrooms were always shared. Over the years bathrooms were added to accommodate the changing demands, the raised floor was the only practical way to get plumbing into the rooms. It’s part of the charm of an older historical building, but step-free rooms are also available.
“The disappointment was finding our bed unmade and towels not replaced when we returned from our outing.”
Like most inns of this type and price range, we do not offer maid service. Additional linens are provided on request (as posted in rooms). Most people are aware of this or would ask if they are unfamiliar with the protocol.
“The continental breakfast was very sparse.”
By definition, a continental breakfast is a light breakfast consisting typically of coffee and rolls. Our free continental breakfast actually included bagels with cream cheese, Danish/muffins/sweet bread, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, at least 2 kinds of fresh fruit, assorted cereals and oatmeal, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, milk and juice. There was a full hot breakfast served on the weekend.

“The town had seen better days.”
Yes, like many small towns across America, Marlinton has seen better days. But, as more people are discovering the recreational opportunities of the area the town is beginning to reinvent and revitalize itself with a number of new businesses and services. Marlinton is a real town with real people and real Appalachian culture. We are proud to be a part of it.

“We didn't see one shop that was opened.”
There are several small locally owned shops in town. ..most do close at 5pm,which is understandable in a town of only 1200 people. There are no T-shirt shops or fancy galleries here….just regular folks like us trying to make a living in a place we love.

“Everything that the owners advertised on their website was exaggerated.”
The reviewer neglected to specify what was exaggerated. We have an information based website that does not make any claims whatsoever. We have received a lot of praise for our straight-forward no-fluff website and if you spend any time on it then you should know exactly what to expect.

“We never saw the dog. I heard the dog bark once and heard the patter of his feet once.”
We are not even sure what is being complained about here...did they want to see the dog (or hear him)? We are upfront about having a dog (his picture hangs at our check-in window) but also aware and respectful that some people are not comfortable around dogs. We are diligent in our efforts to keep our dog from disturbing our guests, but, of course, happy to oblige when someone asks to play with Willie.

“We will not go back to Pocahantas County.”
Pocahontas County is not for everyone...it is Nature’s Mountain Playground...not Pigeon Forge, not Dollywood, not Myrtle Beach. Pocahontas County is considered one of the most beautiful places on the east coast, with thousands of acres of National Forest and endless winding scenic roads. This is an explorer’s paradise… if you want a tourist town with fine dining, strip malls and chain hotels, you can find them along any major interstate.

“We left earlier than planned and had to pay a large cancellation fee.”
The reviewer neglected to state the reason they left early. Their trip was cut short due to a personal emergency and they also had to cancel their reservation on the Cass Scenic Railroad---for which they were offered no refund at all. We issued a partial refund in accordance with the policy that is posted on our information based website and which was also explained when the reservation was made. We wish we could absorb the cost of last minute cancellations, but we are a small business and without adequate notice we are unable to recoup our loss.

We are somewhat hurt by the fact that we were totally unaware that this couple was so displeased. Though we are available 24 hours a day, they never brought any issues to our attention, but instead chose to write a vague and mean spirited review. We hope that you will not base your lodging decision on one review. We encourage you to seek out other reviews of our establishment on TripAdvisor as well as Yahoo Travel. You may also obtain references from the Pocahontas County Convention and Visitors Center and the Pocahontas County Chamber of Commerce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I have stayed here numerous times going back to 2005. I have done motorcycle vacations with my brother and bicycle rides on the trail. Marlinton is a great starting point for both and The Old Clark Inn is a wonderful place to stay. They are friendly and there is a comfortable feel about the place

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

The Old Clark Inn is situated in Marlinton, WVA - a classic small town with close proximity to some of the mid-Atlantic's best outdoor scenery. The owners, Nelson and Andrea are totally focused on the comfort of their guests and will find a way to help solve any need or desire. Our group was in town for a three day bike tour on the Greenbrier River Trail and we discovered immediately that The Old Clark Inn is particularly well suited for bike riders with air pumps, storage areas for bikes and a wonderful front porch to gather before the big ride. As I had learned from my first stay in 2007, their operation embodies the true meaning of accommodation and consideration when it comes to making their customers happy. I am already looking forward to my next stay at The Old Clark Inn.

  • Liked — The toal dedication of the owners to quality and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Old Clark Inn twice now, and both times I've been impressed with the friendliness of the owners and their efficiency. They run a tight ship. The rooms are small but immaculate and it's conveniently located right by the Greenbrier Trail. If you're planning a trip to Pocahontas County it's an excellent place to say and very inexpensive (we paid $65 for one weekday night). While you're in Marlington, be sure and stop by the Dirt Bean (right around the corner from the Inn), it's a neat little locally owned coffee shop and a fun place to go for a snack or a cup o' joe. I also recommend splurging for dinner at the Firefly at Snowshoe resort, everything I've had there is y-u-m-m-y.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — The bathroom. It was extremely clean, but the sink and the bathroom are in 2 different rooms, and there's a step to the bathroom that could catch a sleepy person off-guard.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

Marlinton is the center of some of the best motorcycling touring in the country, but it is a small town that has seen better days. The Old Clark Inn, at first, seems to reflect that. Not much to look at surrounded by tired commercial structures. However, be brave, check in. The rooms are small but impecably clean. Bicycles are available to ride the adjacent Greenbrier River Trail. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch sipping beverages. The dining room and sitting room invite lounging which overcomes the bedroom size. The best surprise was the excellent breakfast. Together with very attractive rates, Old Clark Inn is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband and I spent one night here recently. We were in town to visit an elderly aunt and did not want to just stay at a hotel. This inn, we discovered, has always been an inn. We asked about paying a little extra and bringing the aunt over for breakfast. The owners were so accommodating. During breakfast we discovered that she had known the previous owners. The room was small, but adequate. Internet access was available in the hallway by the office. The breakfast was absoultely great. It was a really nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.