We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save Saved
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5 Single Occupancy Room
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were in town to ride the Greenbrier Trail. We wanted to stay three nights but the "road kill festival" was going on. I was told only Saturday night was available. We stayed at The Carriage House (very nice but expensive and 8 miles away) the first two nights and went into town. The first impression was all the rules. No food in room, no maid service, wash your own dishes and put away and many more. Lots of notes stuck all over with more rules. The owner at check in was very nice but not wanting to talk very much. Several times she referred to her phone if we had question. We never saw her again until she put out breakfast promptly at 7:30. She was then gone, not to be seen again. The room was very small with a very short bed. Very small TV, and a shared bathroom in the hall. Great location in town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Once again, we do go out of our way to explain what we are and what to expect. We even have a page on our website on entitled “What To Expect”, because we know that we are unique and not for everyone, and the last thing we want is to disappoint someone.

Most of our rooms have queen size beds and private baths, but the reviewer chose to reserve a very small room with a (standard length) full size bed and a hall bath. Whether it was their budget preference or the last room available, it was known to them in advance.

While it is true that we prefer rules to chaos, guests like this who are unaccustomed to different situations, prove that notes are necessary and helpful. Most are simply tips and directions to make sure everyone is comfortable. If we were nothing more than a front desk, a hallway and a room (like a typical chain hotel) there would be no need for notes. For example, unlike a hotel, we provide you with wine glasses, dinnerware and other amenities (and if you do not want to wash your own dishes, we also provide disposables).

As we tell you on our website, your innkeepers are always available, but we will not be hovering over you. Running a busy inn requires non-stop work and we also have lives to live, plus we assume that you did not come all the way to Pocahontas County, WV to hang out with us.

Please don’t decide to stay with us based entirely on our location and price, as these folks did. If you are looking for a standard chain hotel or to be fawned over at a fancy B&B, then you probably should “Go elsewhere” as this reviewer dictates. But if you’re looking for a unique affordable lodging experience call us--and if you are not comfortable with what we have to offer, we would be happy to help you find something more suitable. We are familiar with all the area lodging options and can make recommendations, we do this all the time.

“Read the package: if you do not like what’s in the “Chunky Monkey” don’t eat it and then complain about it, just get yourself a nice bowl of vanilla instead.”
--Anonymous Traveler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
30
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Selected on line for location. Was checked in to a standard room which was very small. Could not imagine what an economy room was like. Sink was in corner of bedroom. Small bath was on two levels with a not very private bi-fold door. No place for even a small chair. Had to watch very small CRT TV from bed. Many house rules posted in halls and front porch. Quiet time was 10 p.m. to 7 a.m...no loud conversations or TV. Breakfast was 7:30 to 8:30 only. House was across street from industrial complex. We were not able to relax. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Read entire listing and look for photos of desired room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Manager at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We truly go out of our way to explain what our inn is like so as not to attract this type of tourist. If you are only accustomed to chain hotels, and you are “ill at ease” with situations that are a little different, you will probably not be happy here and we will be happy to help you find accommodations that are within your comfort level.

Selecting us solely for our prime location, high rating and value price was a poor choice on this person’s part since he did not bother to look at the information available to him on our website or even in previous TripAdvisor reviews.

Most every point he makes is correct, as is stated in detail on our website. There is no need to “imagine what an economy room is like” because we show you pictures and clearly explain. Most of our travelers appreciate our conveniently posted tips and directions as they allow guests to be self-sufficient and comfortable in an unfamiliar setting. I guess if you’re from a big city suburb, you might confuse a Southern States Farm and Garden Co-op with an industrial complex...but it is just a neighborhood store to us where we get fence, feed, fuel and Carhartt’s.

We actively market ourselves to “travelers” not typical chain hotel tourists. Travelers are here for the whole experience, not just for one particular site, but to experience the culture of the area, to meet new people and to enjoy the unique things they encounter. Our travelers are not so concerned with TV size since evenings are more likely spent relaxing on the porch having a drink with new friends, rather than in their rooms watching Fox News.

The reviewer never indicated that he was ill at ease when reserving, upon arrival/tour of the inn, or at anytime during his stay. Had we known, we would have made an effort to address his special needs.

We would ask you to please read some of the other reviews, spend a few minutes on our website, and then call us with any questions or concerns. We are always happy to spend the time talking with a traveler to ensure they have the best possible experience in our area, and will gladly refer you if other accommodations seem more suitable for your particular situation.

“Please be a traveler, not a tourist. Try new things, meet new people, and look beyond what’s right in front of you. Those are the keys to understanding this amazing world we live in.”
― Andrew Zimmern, Andrew Zimmern’s Bizarre World of Food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Old Clark Inn is a great self-serve bed and breakfast. Don't expect to be coddled, but the place is well set up to meet your needs very comfortably. Super-well situated in downtown Marlinton, easy walking to the Greenbrier River Trail and local eateries. The Inn is very clean and very well managed, with efficient and affable service and very nice, rustic rooms. Breakfast is simple but good. There is very comfortable living room and a great porch for relaxing and visiting. We found the Old Clark to be a casual, wonderful place for relaxing after a busy outdoors day. It seemed most appropriate for "active" travelers. Don't expect lots of personal attention or service, but everything you'll really need will be adequately provided - along with explicit posted instructions to help yourself. We'll look forward to staying there again. A 60's cycling couple

Room Tip: Price is great; get a room with its own bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We applaud you for sharing your experience with the inn and the area in a positive and informative way. Both the Old Clark Inn and your fellow TripAdvisor users thank you.

“Adventure without risk is Disneyland.” – Doug Coupland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I just took my second ever long distance solo motorcycle trip and decided to stay at this place. I just can't say enough about it. There is a secure area under video surveillance for you to park your motorcycle. There is even a hose, soap and towels to wash your bike if you want. Something that I really appreciated after 2 full days in the saddle; my bike was filthy.

The inn is like staying at a friend's house and your host and hostess treat you like you are old friends. The room was simple, cozy and very clean. What was really neat was to see all of the guests gather together on the porch or at breakfast and compare notes on motorcycles and trips. The location is wonderful and a central point to go riding on any number of local routes. This was one of my best travel experiences ever. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Old Clark Inn on a motorcycle trip. Nelson is a great host, always looking to set his guests up with great riding options. He recommended a nice day full of both fire roads and twisties. During our first trip Nelson and Andrea organized a backyard cookout for our group which was awesome. Nelson also helped our friend arrange for transport when his motorcycle broke down on the last day. I'll gladly stay here again whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed overnight at Nelson & Andrea's Old Clark Inn to launch a 68 mile bike camping trip on the Greenbrier River Trail. The Inn is a nice old house, renovated and charming. I was immediately comfortable with the surroundings. In the fenced back yard there is a bike rack for 10 - 12 bikes - we had 6 and it wasn't a problem. We took a few top floor rooms with 2 single beds to a room and found them great for sleeping - comfortable and quiet. 2 shared bathrooms with shower on the 2nd floor were large and clean.
Andrea and Nelson welcomed us as if we were part of the family and we felt right at home. The breakfast room was well-stocked with muffins, fruit and yogurt, and plenty of coffee and tea. It's located in the center of town, two blocks away from the Food Store, Dorie's Restaurant (with homemade food and prices from the 1980's but don't be in a rush 'cause they aren't), and one block to the Greenbrier River Trail.
My hat's off to Andrea and Nelson for making a down-home B&B where you are comfortable and welcome...year after year. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: It's an old brick house on a quiet corner 1 block off Main Street. Rooms should all be quiet wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Amanda and Nelson are wonderful hosts at this vintage lodging. All the plumbing fixtures appear to have been recently updated and the beds provide for a very comfortable sleep. Rooms are a bit snug and A/C window units are noisy. But for the four nights of our stay on probably the warmest week of the year (80s in Marlinton), we mainly got by with the large paddle fan without the A/C each night. Marlinton is a small working town with many commercial establishments surrounding the inn. But nights during the week of our stay were quiet and we enjoyed relaxing on the large front porch in the early mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.