We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a sleepy part of the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Save
You added Old Clark Inn to your Saves list
702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place in a sleepy part of the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was recently a guest at the Inn. This was my first stay at the Inn, so I did not know what to expect. The reviews are great, but you never know. Anyway, I really enjoyed my stay, even if only for one night. I was in a downstairs room with a private bath, the room and public areas are very clean and well maintained, and the owners are on site so you always have a helping hand in case it is needed. The town of Marlinton is not much, but it is in the middle of beautiful motorcycle riding country, so what the area lacks in activities it makes up with great riding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
32
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My fellow rider and I rolled into Marlinton late on a Sunday afternoon after a long day on our motorcycles. I had pulled up several places to stay in the area on my GPS. First one we went to was out of business. We rode to the next one. Old Clark Inn. While pondering it because we're weren't sure our budget would handle the cost of a B&B, a friendly lady rode up on her bicycle. We ask if she would recommend anywhere to stay in town. "Yes. Stay at my place. My name is Andrea." and she pointed to the Old Clark Inn. After being told the nightly rate we couldn't refuse her offer of a tour. By the time we stepped into the large comfortable parlor we were registered guests for one night. Three days later we were sad to say, "We really do have to go." Andrea & Nelson are wonderful hosts. They do everything possible to make their guests comfortable. Nelson was a wealth of information about great roads for motorcycles and I heard him giving great info to some bicycle riders that were guests also. I quickly found myself looking forward to heading back each evening for the fellowship with the other guests and the comfort of the rocking chair on the front porch. Covered motorcycle parking, quiet area, and restaurants are within walking distance. Rooms are cozy & clean and a great continental breakfast. Can't wait to get back to see our friends, Andrea & Nelson. When you go tell'em Tom & Steve said hello!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really glad to discover this motorcycle get away. It's only about 3.5 hours ride from home which makes it perfect for a long weekend. A lot of places to see and things to do........or just ride the roads as they are almost perfect! Especially nice were the helpful little motorbike friendly touches like the availability of covered parking for bikes, air (tires), rags, etc., however there were many conveniences to appeal to all guests (wireless and guest computer). The in keepers were very helpful in providing personal advice on roads and restaurants that enabled us to get maximum enjoyment from our stay in the area. I'll definitely be back, just wish I'd found the place earlier in the year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Greenbriar Trail is only a few blocks away, which makes the Old Clark Inn the ideal place to stay for bicyclists. It's an easy ride to Cass for the scenic railroad, and then out and back to the south the next day. The Inn seems to be at least as popular with motorcyclists.

The location and price makes this a good value. The front porch is fine for having a glass of wine (the area is dry so bring your own) and meeting the other guests.

The only negative part of our stay was when we called about 9:30 at night to say we would be there about 10:00, and told that was when the office closed. Fortunately we were 5 minutes early, but we definitely had the impression that we would be out of luck if we were a minute late. I know the owners can't stay up all night waiting for guests to arrive, and maybe we could have checked in at 10:05, but that did add a little unnecessary stress.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldclarkinn, Owner at Old Clark Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We do so appreciate this guest taking the time to write this favorable review about his stay with us. We would just like to highlight a couple things the reviewer commented on.
This is not a dry town or county. While it is true that the restaurants in closest proximity to the inn have opted not to serve alcohol, we do have a lounge, a liquor store and several shops that carry beer and wine all within the town limits.
While we regret any stress this guest may have experienced, the 10 pm deadline was established to ensure that guests retiring at a normal hour would not be disturbed by late arrivals. We make this policy very clear to everyone who makes a reservation and we are willing to lose a few reservations in order to ensure that the guests we have will have as good an experience as possible. Additionally, guests who have stayed with us before typically have no restrictions on arrival because they are already familiar with our layout and operation and therefore can enter with minimal disturbance. This is a very unique facility...for comfort, value and convenience you won’t get as much bang for your buck anywhere else...but if you require something beyond what we can offer then we are always happy to provide you with other lodging options so that you will fully enjoy your visit to the area. Our main priority is the comfort of our guests and we apologize for any inconvenience caused by our check-in policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I met our daughter and her husband at the Old Clark Inn to ride the Greenbrier Trail. The rooms were small, but a good value. The owners were very helpful. We paid a local company, Appalachian Sports (Very friendly and helpful) to transport us and our bikes up to Cass, WV., the northern end of the trail. Our plan was to ride back to Marlinton (25 miles) and if all goes well we would do more of the trail later. The weather was threatening but it held off allowing us a great ride for the first 21 miles. Great photo ops at Sharps tunnel. With about 4 miles to go, the rain started coming down hard and it was very windy. We stopped and put on rain gear and rode as quickly as we could back to Marlinton. Mud was everywhere! We pulled into a sheltered area at the Old Clark Inn and we were pleased to see that everything was available to clean off our bikes and equipment. A hose, towels etc. which made cleaning up a breeze. We enjoyed ourselves very much and look forward to going back next year to finish the rest of the trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Old Clark Inn is the perfect stop for an overnight or as a home-base while touring this beautiful region of West Virginia. Nelson and Andrea made us feel at home while providing great information on all the best roads and attractions in the area. The Inn especially caters to visitors on motorcycles and bicycles, providing all the comforts of home. Take time to relax and enjoy the rocking chairs on the front porch of this historic property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's been over a year since we stayed at the Old Clark Inn, but after a bad experience at another Inn this past weekend we realized just what a great find the Old Clark Inn was. The Inn delivers on what it promises and provides good value for the price. Rooms are clean and nice; breakfast is basic and good; Inn keepers are professional and friendly. We especially loved the proximity to the bike trail and the beautiful front porch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Address: 702 Third Ave., Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience. We are a popular, old-timey, small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Relaxed and Informal, Free Breakfast, High-speed Internet Access, American Owned Mom & Pop, In Town, Walk to Restaurants & Shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Clark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.