We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, slow paced, peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watoga State Park

Watoga State Park
HC 82, Box 252, Marlinton, WV 24954
800-CALL-WVA, 304-799-4087
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 attractions in Marlinton
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Largest of all the state parks in West Virginia, Watoga has over 10,000 acres of sprawling woodland filled with a multitude of recreational opportunities. Camping at Watoga is unsurpassed anywhere. The 11-acre lake, which was previously Lake Killibuck, is used for paddle-boating, row-boating and fishing. Cast your line to fetch a trout, bass, bluegill or even catfish! Don’t worry, if you fail to catch dinner at the lake - there is a restaurant on the property which serves tasty meals. There are over 15 miles of road and 40 miles of hiking paths for enjoying the quiet beauty of the park.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice, slow paced, peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our weekend at Watoga. The staff is so kind and wonderful--no rushing. It was great to see folks who treat us so personably. The cabin was nice and we were happy to bring along our dog. The park is conveniently located near the Greenbrier River Trail and there are many nice hiking trails within the park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed over the Labor Day weekend...in a standard cabin and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The cabin was super clean...it is an old log cabin that took you back in time....The scenic views are breathtaking; the ambiance of the fireplace reflecting off the polished floors, watching the fire jump and spark is very tranquil. I rented a canoe and the staff was VERY polite and VERY helpful...although the lake is small, the area around it was so clean and the lake was so clear...just amazing. I woke up to a deer and two fawns grazing outside my window....I sat and watched them for like forever...staying at Watoga State Park is a MUST. There is so much to do and see. If you like river finishing, the Greenbriar river is right there...boat & tube rentals all over the place. Again, the staff at Wagota State Park are wonderful....hassle free experience. Thank you!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnacle, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warthogs State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to take your family and you like being in the outdoors, this is a great place to go. There are cabins and campsites with a swimming pool, lake and paddle boats, recreation hall. The cabins are nice and the park is beautiful. I have been there two times this summer and the staff is excellent. There is one downside though, if you forget your Off or something, they do not have a store or gift shop, but there is a small store just outside the park!

If you are near Lewisburg in West Virginia you take highway 219 towards Marlinton and just past the Pearl S Buck homesite you will see the turn off for the park. It is very easy to get too! HAPPY CAMPING!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Riverside Campground is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been coming to Watoga State Park since I was a child, I grew up less than 8 miles from there. I now live in Virginia and coming "home" to this State Park is the best camping experience we have. The sites are HUGE compared to many of the campgrounds we stay at, and it's very quiet and really lets you get back to nature. There's not a ton of activities within the campground, but the park offers fishing, paddleboats, horseback riding, hiking & swimming and Pocahontas County itself is virtually full of things to do, many at no cost.

I would recommend Riverside Campground to anyone looking for a great camping experience.

A few things you should know about the area. Cell service is none existent in the campground, and there is no wi-fi. Be prepared to be unplugged. The closest Wal-Mart (or other large grocery store) is 30 miles south of Hillsboro just off Interstate 64 in Lewisburg. Jack Horner's Corner just across the bridge has fantastic pizza - plus tube rentals for a float down the river.

Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We camped at the Riverside campground for 6 nights. It was crowded, but everyone was well behaved, and there were plenty of other kids with bikes that my son was able to play with. We used the park as a base camp to explore the whole region. We hiked right out of the campground to the top of the mountiain at the lookout one morning. Awesome view! And we did not see another soul on the trail. We did some geocaching (there are currently 3 in the park). We also fished in the pond and attended a campfire program. The pool is very nice, with solar heated water, but we didn't go swimming there. The river was very low, but it is still worth it to rent a tube at Jack Horner's Corner store in Seebert and float down to the campground (takes about 2 hours). The bathrooms were standard for state parks, with showers and dishwashing stations. They have electrical hookups at most of the sites and a pumping station. We went to Seebert United Methodist Church for the 9 AM service on Sunday. Very neat old church. I recommend, even if you are not Methodist.

Here are some IMPORTANT TIPS if you visit:
1. There is NO cell phone coverage whatsoever in this whole area. There is a pay phone at the office, but you will need a calling card. The card they sell at Jack Horners is a TOTAL RIPOFF, $8 for 3 calls. I suggest going to Dollar General before you visit and buying a phone card if you will need to make any calls while you are there. We got one in Marlinton for $5 that gave us 4 short calls (this card charged .99 each call just for using a pay phone, which is standard).
2. The restaurant is closed this year. The concession holder did not renew.
3. The camp store is closed for renovations.
4. If you are planning to fish and are OUT-OF-STATE, do not let the WV Fish and Game website fool you. Yes, it is only $3 per day for out of state fishing, but they also charge you $13 for "Conservation" fees and $16 if you plan to fish for trout. These are annual fees, so if you plan to do a lot of fishing, it may be worth it.
5. If you want a campsite on the river during the summer or leaf season, make a reservation early. The tent sites (no hookups) are $3 cheaper, but they are on a loop away from the river. We came on a Monday afternoon, and most of the sites were reserved or taken.
6. If you need internet access, the library in Hillsboro is your best bet. Hours are 10-5 M-F. The Visitor Center in Marlinton is a free Wifi hotspot, as is the Pretty Penny Cafe in Hillsboro.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watoga State Park also viewed

 

Been to Watoga State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watoga State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Watoga State Park to your Saves list