We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Scenic Highway

Highland Scenic Highway
U.S. Route 219, Marlinton, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Marlinton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the most beautiful and relaxing drive!! There was no traffic-we only passed 2 or 3 cars. We used it to drive to Route 19 from the Marlinton area. There are a number of overlooks and hiking trails. We didn't stop at any because it was raining when we drove it. But definitely plan to return and enjoy the overlooks and trails!!! There was also a nature center at the southern end of the drive that may be worth checking out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful....a must do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved the scenic highway. We brought a picnic lunch with us and ate it in the campground near the river. There are lots of overlooks that also have bathrooms. We also visited Cranberry glades which was interesting. The roads are well maintained.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MeEncantaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“West Virginia is beautiful in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Worth the drive especially to go leaf peeping and in spring. One of the most beautiful by ways in West Virginia. Beautiful all year round.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowshoe, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love, love, love.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful views, well-maintained interpretive trails and overlooks with picnic shelters and pit toilets. We get our Christmas tree up here every year. Fall colors are some of the best in the region. Anytime we have guests from outside the area, a trip across "the Highway" is a must.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rondi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston wv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very good driving road. stop at the falls you will not be disappointed. I have been here twice and it is actually a peaceful drive, very quiet, just makes you want to slow down and cruise.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank brturnburn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Scenic Highway also viewed

 
West Virginia, United States
 

Been to Highland Scenic Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing