We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Scenic Highway

Highland Scenic Highway
U.S. Route 219, Marlinton, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Marlinton
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Attraction details
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the most beautiful and relaxing drive!! There was no traffic-we only passed 2 or 3 cars. We used it to drive to Route 19 from the Marlinton area. There are a number of overlooks and hiking trails. We didn't stop at any because it was raining when we drove it. But definitely plan to return and enjoy the overlooks and trails!!! There was also a nature center at the southern end of the drive that may be worth checking out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful....a must do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved the scenic highway. We brought a picnic lunch with us and ate it in the campground near the river. There are lots of overlooks that also have bathrooms. We also visited Cranberry glades which was interesting. The roads are well maintained.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“West Virginia is beautiful in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Worth the drive especially to go leaf peeping and in spring. One of the most beautiful by ways in West Virginia. Beautiful all year round.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowshoe, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love, love, love.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful views, well-maintained interpretive trails and overlooks with picnic shelters and pit toilets. We get our Christmas tree up here every year. Fall colors are some of the best in the region. Anytime we have guests from outside the area, a trip across "the Highway" is a must.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston wv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very good driving road. stop at the falls you will not be disappointed. I have been here twice and it is actually a peaceful drive, very quiet, just makes you want to slow down and cruise.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Scenic Highway also viewed

 

Been to Highland Scenic Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Scenic Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.