We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the midst of beautiful mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pocahontas County Opera House

Pocahontas County Opera House
818 Third Avenue, Marlinton, WV 24954
304-799-6645
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Marlinton
Type: Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Opera House is Pocahontas County’s premier music hall and performing arts center. An intimate venue, with seating for 250, the Opera House is part of the West Virginia Historic Theatre Trail. Its annual performance series brings more than a dozen performances on its stage each year, ranging from bluegrass to jazz, folk to musical theatre and everything in between.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the midst of beautiful mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Pocahontas County Opera House is a lovely old building with phenomenal acoustics. The genres of music continue to broaden, from a core of traditional and bluegrass, to Latin, African, Jazz and contemporary, in addition to specialty shows and plays. It is a venue for local, state and national musicians to play to a small crowd (300 max.), providing a unique entertainment intimacy at very reasonable prices ($8-10). We are season ticket holders for the second year, as it is a win/win proposition - we enjoy several shows each season, "gift" our tickets to friends when we cannot attend, while supporting a valuable community treasure. I recommend that visitors to the community plan trips to coincide with a production, i.e., John McCutcheon on August 17, 2013 for only $10, advance tickets suggested, as it will sell out :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlinton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Marlinton Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We held our Daughters Wedding dinner at the Opera House. The facility is great and open. We had tables, buffet and a dance floor without crowding. The staff is excellent and helpful. Perfect place that family still talk about!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlinton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What an awesome venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Pocahontas County Opera House is a beautifully restored historic building. Concerts, plays, and other events take place here. The concert series includes a diversity of music types including local old-time and bluegrass bands as well as regional and national favorites from americana to contemporary. African and Latin American music have also been featured. I have been to many events here, most recently, a screening of the independent film, "Angel's Perch". The friendly, informal, and intimate environment serves to allow considerable interaction among audience and performers. Refreshments are usually provided by local youth groups. It is a family-friendly environment that promises a fun time for all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowshoe, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An awesome facility for a small town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love the Opera House - the acoustics are awesome and they bring in some great talent, then charge a very small price for what you are getting. It is a beautiful facility too. The community is so lucky to have it and all the dedicated volunters who make it all happen.

Over the years, I have seen John McCutcheon there 4-5 times, never paying more than $7.00, the Avett Brothers for $5.00 and many other great acts.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Productions and Small Town Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Saw "Why Do Fools Fall in Love?" 1960's musical. The 4 ladies did a phenomenal job and everyone in the audience was singing and having a great time. Don't go expecting plush seating and amazing sets it is a small town and small production but they did a great job and would go again to see another show. 8.00 dollars per person is great for a quality production.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pocahontas County Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Pocahontas County Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocahontas County Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.