We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub
Save
You added Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub to your Saves list
Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife an I spent two nights at this B&B and found the second floor suite spacious and comfortable. It was great being able to get fresh coffee in the dining room beginning at 7 AM. Paula and Dave were very helpful with recommending places for dinner (unfortunately, we were there during the week and the Pub wasn't serving). The breakfasts were adequate but not outstanding. We had essentially the same thing both mornings; pancakes, scrambled eggs and a type of sausage. One frustration was that the wi-fi service was inconsistent; most of the time we were not able to log on. While the overall experience was fine, it was not as nice as we have had at many other B&Bs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Locust Hill Inn for 2 nights. The room was clean and well furnished. This is one of the few places where you can have dinner and get a drink(Wine or Beer). the owner was friendly and helpful. We got the Cycling Package which worked out very well for us. Breakfast was great and the whole atmosphere was very relaxing. We rode the Cass Railroad and the Green Brier trail(which by the way is flat and very scenic) I spent the evening in the front porch enjoying the sunset and stars with a glass of wine. I high recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Because of state laws you can not drink on the front porch unless you purchase alcohol from the B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice and cozy place, friendly staff, delicious food, convenient pub located at this B&B for dinner when you don't feel like going out. Great place to get a way from it all and enjoy the beautiful scenery. This was our second time visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Locust Hill while visiting the area for a wedding. Very happy to report we had a clean and comfortable room, very nice shower, great breakfasts, and generally a warm and welcoming experience. The Pub (open on weekend nights) was a great surprise; very affordable and upscale -but not stuffy- menu choices. We ended up having much of the wedding party come there for dinner, and everyone was so pleased with the experience. Thanks so much to the innkeepers, Dave and Paula!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a two-night getaway over the Labor Day weekend and really enjoyed our stay at the Locust Hill Inn. The proprietors were very warm and welcoming, the place was well appointed, clean and everything worked perfectly. We had plenty of room to relax indoors and out. We enjoyed the yard games available, but we especially enjoyed listening to the quiet. There are lots of things to do nearby and our hosts were very helpful in providing information that helped us choose. The food was great, both breakfast and dinner. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The "Almost Heaven" room on the top floor has a tub-jacuzzi and views on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here and loved it. We wanted peace and quiet and it was great. The suite with the king bed was great and the bathroom very clean. The breakfast each morning was delicious and more than what we could eat. We ate dinner Sunday night there also and the food could not have been better. Loved this B&B and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family and a couple of friends stayed at the Locust Hill Inn and had a relaxing visit. Paula and Dave were very nice, they are great cooks and extremely hospitable. We made two trips on the Greenbrier River Trail. One in which the Inn keepers took us up to the Cass Railroad and we rode the 25 miles down to Marlinton where they had parked our car for the return to the Inn. The breakfast was delicious and dinner was not only tasty and eclectic but responsibly priced. It was the best food in town. Don't bother to eat anywhere else. The Inn was clean and there were plenty of rockers and swings to relax. They offered to start a fire for s'mores, but our daughter was too tired after a big day. The whole family is ready to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms have bathroom facilities and an air conditioner. They all have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
0.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Now
Serenity Now
#2 of 3 in Snowshoe
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

Address: Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Pocahontas County in West Virginia, Locust Hill Bed & Breakfast embodies a spirit of adventure and comfort. Whether you need a quiet room, a private cabin, or just a place for a good dinner, we have what you are looking for at affordable prices. At Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub/Dining, our goal is to provide you with courteous, professional service in a relaxing, fun atmosphere! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.