We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience at Locust Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub
Save
You added Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub to your Saves list
Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely experience at Locust Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent the 4th of July holiday in Marlinton at the Locust Hill Inn (4 nights). This is a lovely B&B. The bedroom was comfortable and well appointed, with its own bath. Breakfast each morning was promptly served at 8am, with 3 items (eggs, breakfast meat, pancakes/french toast) plus juice, coffee, tea. We ate dinner on Saturday night and enjoyed our meal very much. Everything is clean and tidy. I recommend spending some time in the mornings and evenings on the lovely porch with a view of nearby mountains. The inn is in town, and you can easily drive to a number of nice attractions in the county. I have stayed here before and undoubtedly will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our group consisted of four adults. We stayed in the Dream Suite, two rooms joined by a bathroom. It was the perfect set up for our group. We purchased the bike package and got shuttled up river to Cass one day and the next day a car shuttled down river to Beard in order to bike one way. This was a nice luxury included in the bike package.

The rooms were clean and not overly decorated, the property is beautiful and the front porch is the place to sit and relax. The pub on site and open on the weekends has a nice menu, including a weekend special. The food was good and reasonably priced. Make it a point to try a dessert. I'd recommend the bread pudding. Dave makes a tasty breakfast and changed up the menu each day we were there.

The proprietors, Dave and Paula, are funny, friendly, accommodating and quick to direct you to local attractions worth checking out. Upon checking out, I felt like I was saying goodbye to new friends. I would stay here if in the area again and would recommend it to anyone traveling in this area of WV.

Room Tip: Dream suite can accommodate four adults. Two rooms with adjoining bathroom. One room with a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Locust Hill and were so pleased with the service provided by Paula and Dave. Locust Hill is immaculate and friendly. In addition to being a B&B, Paula and Dave have opened a pub on the premises for Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. After a long day on the Greenbrier trail, an evening of pub food and conversation on the big front porch with travelers and locals is just what we needed. I highly recommend Locust Hill to anyone traveling in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We met other friends for the weekend of June 14-16 at Locust Hill. Dave and Paula have done a great job fixing up the rooms, and our accommodations could not have been better. Dave did a great job with breakfast each morning and the dinner Saturday night was terrific. They were very gracious to take us down to Julia to allow 6 of us to ride 26 miles up the Greenbrier River Trail back to Marlinton. We spent a lot of time down at the cabin with our friends, which is very nice as well. All in all, it was a great weekend with good friends, and made even more special thanks to the efforts of Dave and Paula. Craig & Jane L.

Room Tip: We were on the second of three floors, and had no problems with noise from other guests, temperature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My sister and I really enjoyed our stay at the Inn. It's in a great location just on the outskirts of the town. There is lots to do on the property from horse shoes to kayaking on the pond. Paula and Dave were wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable of the area. I loved the swing on the front porch, reading and looking at the mountains. They have a very special place....enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Cabin for four nights prior to Memorial Day weekend. We found the cabin to be quite charming and perfect for our vacation needs. We were in the area to bike on the Greenbrier River Trail. Dave and Paula were very accomodating and shuttled us three times so that we could ride the entire trail and not have to back track. The cabin is very nice and the view is spectacular. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the hot tub. Dave and Paula have just opened a pub on the premises and we highly recommend the "Beef on Weck" sandwich - it was awesome! Although we stayed at the cabin, Dave gave us a tour of the Bed and Breakfast and it was lovely. The property is close to the town of Marlinton and the bike trail. We had a great time and Dave and Paula are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the cabin for NYE 2013, for 3 nights and four days. We had a group of 6 couples and we had a great time. We booked this cabin after deciding last minute to go Skiiing/Snowboarding at Snowhsoe for the New Year Holiday. Everything on the mtn was booked solid or super over priced. My husband called the tourism board of WV and they recommend this Cabin. We arrived on Saturday to a clean and warm Cabin with snow on the ground. If you are looking for a super secluded mtn cabin, this is not what you are looking for. There is a minor road that runs in front of the Cabin & B&B, but the noise is hardly audibly from inside the cabin.

The drive to Snowshoe Ski Resort was about 45 minutes to an hour depending on road conditions. The ground was covered in snow and it snowed throughout our stay, on & off. Temperatures were as low as 13 degrees and as high as 34. The road was always treated and clear for the most part, you just have to be slow and cautious! We never had any problems in our Jeep Rubicon or Toyota Tundra.

After a long day of snowboarding on NYE, my husband and I soaked in the Hot Tub while temps were in the low 20s outside, and the Hot Tub was very hot and felt amazing! Dave was very informative and helped get us antiquated with the Hot Tub setting upon our arrival.

Yes, the Bedroom does not have a door. But the cabin is pretty spacious and open, with inside noise coming in all over, not just through the doorway. If you need peace and quite and have a big group, this might not work for you. But we had no problems with nose, but we are a very close group of friends. We put a sheet up on the door frame and privacy was ours.

The kitchen was quaint with an old school gas stove (took us a minute to figure out). The dishes and cups are minimal. There is a coffee pot, but no filters. There is no dishwasher, so yes, some of the dishes were not 100% spotless, but no a big deal after you wash them once over before using them. We brought our electric skillet from home and that was a life saver. The cooking pans are minimal, especially for a large group.

NYE was a blast, we rode sleds down the front yard of the B&B and had blast! Then Dave started a fire pit (in a can) for us. Which was also very nice. However, he only had old construction debris (a fence) to burn, I would have preferred real logs, but it was still warm!

There are lots of deer on the property! The scenery is amazing and The small town of Marlinton has all the essentials you may need within a 5 minute drive.

Compared to the prices to stay the Snowshoe Mtn, this Cabin is a great Value!

**Keep in mind the owner up charges you $15 per head over 2 people for the cabin and this ended up being more costly than we anticipated due to the double taxation for the area.

Room Tip: The Cabin is updated and the shower and beds a great. We had a couple stay at the B&B for two n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
14.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 2,942 reviews
14.2 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 4 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Serenity Now
Serenity Now
#2 of 4 in Snowshoe
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
14.1 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

Address: Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Pocahontas County in West Virginia, Locust Hill Bed & Breakfast embodies a spirit of adventure and comfort. Whether you need a quiet room, a private cabin, or just a place for a good dinner, we have what you are looking for at affordable prices. At Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub/Dining, our goal is to provide you with courteous, professional service in a relaxing, fun atmosphere! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.