We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub
Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Elkton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodations and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Cabin for four nights prior to Memorial Day weekend. We found the cabin to be quite charming and perfect for our vacation needs. We were in the area to bike on the Greenbrier River Trail. Dave and Paula were very accomodating and shuttled us three times so that we could ride the entire trail and not have to back track. The cabin is very nice and the view is spectacular. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the hot tub. Dave and Paula have just opened a pub on the premises and we highly recommend the "Beef on Weck" sandwich - it was awesome! Although we stayed at the cabin, Dave gave us a tour of the Bed and Breakfast and it was lovely. The property is close to the town of Marlinton and the bike trail. We had a great time and Dave and Paula are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the cabin for NYE 2013, for 3 nights and four days. We had a group of 6 couples and we had a great time. We booked this cabin after deciding last minute to go Skiiing/Snowboarding at Snowhsoe for the New Year Holiday. Everything on the mtn was booked solid or super over priced. My husband called the tourism board of WV and they recommend this Cabin. We arrived on Saturday to a clean and warm Cabin with snow on the ground. If you are looking for a super secluded mtn cabin, this is not what you are looking for. There is a minor road that runs in front of the Cabin & B&B, but the noise is hardly audibly from inside the cabin.

The drive to Snowshoe Ski Resort was about 45 minutes to an hour depending on road conditions. The ground was covered in snow and it snowed throughout our stay, on & off. Temperatures were as low as 13 degrees and as high as 34. The road was always treated and clear for the most part, you just have to be slow and cautious! We never had any problems in our Jeep Rubicon or Toyota Tundra.

After a long day of snowboarding on NYE, my husband and I soaked in the Hot Tub while temps were in the low 20s outside, and the Hot Tub was very hot and felt amazing! Dave was very informative and helped get us antiquated with the Hot Tub setting upon our arrival.

Yes, the Bedroom does not have a door. But the cabin is pretty spacious and open, with inside noise coming in all over, not just through the doorway. If you need peace and quite and have a big group, this might not work for you. But we had no problems with nose, but we are a very close group of friends. We put a sheet up on the door frame and privacy was ours.

The kitchen was quaint with an old school gas stove (took us a minute to figure out). The dishes and cups are minimal. There is a coffee pot, but no filters. There is no dishwasher, so yes, some of the dishes were not 100% spotless, but no a big deal after you wash them once over before using them. We brought our electric skillet from home and that was a life saver. The cooking pans are minimal, especially for a large group.

NYE was a blast, we rode sleds down the front yard of the B&B and had blast! Then Dave started a fire pit (in a can) for us. Which was also very nice. However, he only had old construction debris (a fence) to burn, I would have preferred real logs, but it was still warm!

There are lots of deer on the property! The scenery is amazing and The small town of Marlinton has all the essentials you may need within a 5 minute drive.

Compared to the prices to stay the Snowshoe Mtn, this Cabin is a great Value!

**Keep in mind the owner up charges you $15 per head over 2 people for the cabin and this ended up being more costly than we anticipated due to the double taxation for the area.

Room Tip: The Cabin is updated and the shower and beds a great. We had a couple stay at the B&B for two n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the cabin.

Pros:
-Located close to town.

Cons:
-Not secluded at all
-Wasp infestation. We found a nest and killed at least 20 wasps inside. Someone left an empty can of wasp Raid behind.
-Housekeeping
-Nightstands were not cleaned
-The furnished pots and pans still had food on them
-Bedroom did not have a door
-Hot tub was supposed to be fixed, but never was

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzzyWV, Owner at Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We truly appreciate all constructive criticism as it helps us to continue improving. If our guests are not 100% satisfied, we would appreciate being told directly instead of just a "bad" review. Especially SIX months after their stay!
We do not live at the cabin, if guests would have told us there was a problem with wasps, we certainly would have taken care of the issue. If there was a wasp nest inside, I would have seen it when cleaning, yes I do clean! We do have wasps in WV and on occasion I would see a dead one or two in the cabin and dispose of it.

Until reading this review I didn't check the pots and pans, etc. If they were put away, I assumed they had been washed by guest who had used them, I will most certainly start checking. Also, after this review we have decided to make check in after 4:00pm. During our busy season it is next to impossible to clean the whole B&B and cabin from 11:00am to 2:00pm, this will give us extra time for better cleaning.

The cabin is not secluded in trees but it is not close to any other cabins or the B&B. You can view pictures online.

Our hot tub motor had gone out. The motor was in a repair shop two hours away. We told these guests that we were waiting for it to be repaired and hoping it would be finished while they were there, at the time they said, "no problem, they understood."

Thank you for your review, we wish you would have expressed your issues to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights here over Labor Day weekend. The hosts are very welcoming and they keep a great house. Oatmeal pancakes one day, french toast the next day, with lots of fruit etc. The other guests were very friendly and the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Almost Heaven" room on the top floor and it was great, with its own jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dave and Paula have a good little thing going on in Marlinton. The house is what it is, a charming older home that has been sort of updated or at least modified to be a B & B. The home is cozy and comfortable. The outside of the place is really special. The location is not far from the main road but, it feels completely secluded. There are plenty of quiet places to relax around the inside and outside the house. Many have mentioned the front porch but there was a swing out by the pond and several sets of chairs set up far enough away from the home that you could feel peaceful while being steps away from the house. As I mentioned, they have a nice little farm pond on the property. I chose this as my quiet place and plopped in one of their kayaks. I tossed a line in and ended up pulling out a couple of small bass (bonus).
As many have said, Dave and Paula are great hosts. They were very accommodating and seemed to know everything about the places we were looking to visit. Dave’s cooking is impressive. Oat pancakes doesn't sound good but it sure did taste good.
The location in Marlinton left us in a good spot to see all that Pocahontas County had to offer. We only stayed two nights but, we had time to bike and fish off of the Greenbrier Trail and the Cranberry River, we ate dinner at Snow Shoe and the River Side, Road the Cass Railroad up the mountain, hiked through Bear Town State Park and The Falls of Hills Creek.

Locust Hill has their own pictures of the B & B on their web page...they give you a fairly accurate depiction of the house. I decided to add a couple of pictures of the places we ended up visiting while we stayed there...
All in all we had a great weekend and staying at Locust Hill made it better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We agree with all but one of the reviews; be sure to read them, they are very helpful as you make your decision. The lone cranky review wasn't at all accurate--Paula and Dave are perfect inn keepers of a great inn. Yummy breakfast, lots of amenities. A detail, but i appreciated that there were lots of hooks for our stuff and surfaces not covered with teddy bears or plastic flowers. Lovely, homey atmosphere. Great front porch. Wish we had had enough time for a massage! Memorable, fun getaway.

Room Tip: We recommend the attic room....large, quaint, lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were passing through and found this B&B online. It was right after a huge storm hit the area, so the B&B lacked power but that didn't matter. It was nice to relax, enjoy the evening and the beautiful scenery. Dave gave us some candles, and it really added to the ambiance of the place. We watched the numerous birds visiting the feeders while curled up on the porch chairs. Some deer passed on by, and their dog Izzie came out to greet us for a bit. We stayed in the Stardust room, and it was great for weary travelers. Breakfast was delicious- cheesy eggs, sausage, oatmeal pancakes and fresh juice. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: While we didn't stay in the Almost Heaven (attic suite), we did check it out. It was gorgeous an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

Address: Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Pocahontas County in West Virginia, Locust Hill Bed & Breakfast embodies a spirit of adventure and comfort. Whether you need a quiet room, a private cabin, or just a place for a good dinner, we have what you are looking for at affordable prices. At Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub/Dining, our goal is to provide you with courteous, professional service in a relaxing, fun atmosphere! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub to your Saves list