We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub
Save
You added Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub to your Saves list
Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We agree with all but one of the reviews; be sure to read them, they are very helpful as you make your decision. The lone cranky review wasn't at all accurate--Paula and Dave are perfect inn keepers of a great inn. Yummy breakfast, lots of amenities. A detail, but i appreciated that there were lots of hooks for our stuff and surfaces not covered with teddy bears or plastic flowers. Lovely, homey atmosphere. Great front porch. Wish we had had enough time for a massage! Memorable, fun getaway.

Room Tip: We recommend the attic room....large, quaint, lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crownsville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were passing through and found this B&B online. It was right after a huge storm hit the area, so the B&B lacked power but that didn't matter. It was nice to relax, enjoy the evening and the beautiful scenery. Dave gave us some candles, and it really added to the ambiance of the place. We watched the numerous birds visiting the feeders while curled up on the porch chairs. Some deer passed on by, and their dog Izzie came out to greet us for a bit. We stayed in the Stardust room, and it was great for weary travelers. Breakfast was delicious- cheesy eggs, sausage, oatmeal pancakes and fresh juice. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: While we didn't stay in the Almost Heaven (attic suite), we did check it out. It was gorgeous an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I had not booked in advance but the owner was most accommodating, and I could not have been more comfortable. Reasonable rates, every convenience I needed (I was traveling for business, and it was wonderful to catch up on some work in the living room) and wonderful surroundings. My room was delightful and the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Locust Hill in early June, and we're very glad we did. We asked for the two-night biking package, which included two nights' lodging (we chose the cabin), dinner, and shuttle service to Cass. The view from the cabin porch is enchanting--rolling fields and deer predominate--and the dinner was wonderful.

I highly recommend the biking package: Dave was prepared to take us and our bikes to Cass anytime we wanted to leave, and he showed up with his van promptly at the appointed hour; we arrived back at the cabin after our bike trip in time to shower (no bathtub in the cabin) before dinner. The steak and salmon were cooked to a perfect medium rare, as we'd requested, and the broccoli was very nicely seasoned and retained some crispness, unlike vegetables in many homestyle WV restaurants (hey, I'm a native West Virginian--I can say that with some authority); Dave told us to feel free to bring our own bottle of wine to accompany dinner. Moreover, from the dining room window we could watch birds having their own dinner from the many bird feeders Dave and Paula have erected.

The cabin was comfortable--nothing fancy, but it was clean and the kitchen was equipped adequately for simple meals. The nights were quiet, but the 18-wheelers start rolling on Route 39 (300-400 yards down the hill from the cabin) fairly early in the morning.

A lagniappe for dog lovers: Izzy, Dave and Paula's adorable coton de toulear--a small, animated ball of fluff--is not at all averse to long patting sessions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We loved the locust hill B and B. The house is a beautifully restored farm house. I thought the house was much more beautiful than the pictures on the web site. The owners could not be more hospitable. The breakfasts were great. I normally don't take the time to write a review but I thought this B and B was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have been to Locust Hill several times and stay in the beautiful cabin overlooking their green
field and the mountains. The bike trail and canoeing are great and Dave and Paula's oatmeal
pancake breakfast is worth the trip alone. A wonderful place to get away and "We'll be back"

Room Tip: We love the "A" frame cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Dave and Paula have a very nice setup here and it's in line with hotel chain prices. Was only there one night so didn't spend any time exploring their 19+ acre property but it's very nice and well kept. Breakfast was excellent! Oatmeal pancakes, scrambled eggs and sausage plus homemade berry juice. Fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think I had the "Dream believer" room and couldn't have been happier. The bed was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub

Address: Route 39, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Pocahontas County in West Virginia, Locust Hill Bed & Breakfast embodies a spirit of adventure and comfort. Whether you need a quiet room, a private cabin, or just a place for a good dinner, we have what you are looking for at affordable prices. At Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub/Dining, our goal is to provide you with courteous, professional service in a relaxing, fun atmosphere! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locust Hill Inn, Cabin & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.