We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruckman cabin is a winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerico Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jerico Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Jerico Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Chadds Ford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ruckman cabin is a winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son and I recently spent 3 nights in the Ruckman cabin while mountain biking in the nearby Monanghela Nat'l Forest and Greenbrier River Trail . Jerico is less than a mile from the River Trail, so very easy access, while dozens of national forest trails are within a half hour drive, off the Highland Scenic Road. Our host Lindy was very friendly and helpful, both in booking a cabin and after arrival. The Ruckman cabin itself was perfect for the two of us, with ample sleeping areas including queen br downstairs and loft with a twin and double. The kitchen was modern and well equipped, the bathroom updated and very clean, the family/living area roomy enough to relax, play games, read or watch TV. The covered front porch,overlooking a stream about 50 ft below, was a great place to relax after a day of riding. Ruckman is very quiet and private , sharing a long drive with just one other cabin that is rarely used (residence of owner's mother, who primarily lives in the main house). Yet in less than 5 minutes you can be in Marlinton to access the river trail, grocery stores or restaurants (we recommend Dory's). Only negatives of the cabin were 1)water has a distinct sulfur odor, which takes a little getting used to, especially from the shower and 2) at times water pressure in shower was low. However these were minor relative to an overall very positive experience !

Room Tip: In addition to Ruckman, the Rebel Cabin has a very private location and apparently has a layout and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Mills, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed in Ruckman cabin for 3 days. We originally booked the Rebel, but the road there was too muddy and steep to get up. So they were nice enough & we were lucky enough to be put up in the Ruckman cabin at no extra charge. It was private enough with a screened in jacuzzi porch, campfire pit, cable tv, and everything was very clean & in working order. Website said that you needed to bring your own TP, paper towel, etc, but those things were already there in our cabin. Not sure if they were leftovers from previous guests, so would recommend to bring those items along just in case.The Innkeepers were very pleasant. If you are set on needing wifi or cell service this is not territory for you - the whole area is in a quiet zone, but the B&B has wifi. But if you are looking for a nice well-kept place to get away, this is it! The town is very small, so you will not see any big chain stores or any nightlife activities.

Room Tip: Ruckman cabin has a paved driveway. Rebel cabin requires 4x4 vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My daughter (28) & I stayed in the Loring Cabin and both of us fell in love with it; what a gorgeous cabin!. Not only is the cabin lovely but the Greenbrier River allows for a breath taking view as it gently flows. Couldn't imagine anything any sweeter or more peaceful nestled in the beautiful hills of WV. If you've not stayed in the Loring give it a try; my favorite cabin! Awesome workmanship Tom! Thank You!

Room Tip: Great get away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed our first night in the Rebel cabin up on the hill and it was fantastic. Very spacious, great restoration effort especially considering the limitations of the origianl building. Outdoor private hot tub was a nice touch (be warned its programmed to clean itself for 2 hours in the middle of the night and won't stop until finished). Beautiful location, BBQ facilities, plenty of space and homely feel made our night here very special. The next 2 nights were spent in the main inn. We had what they referred to as 'the small room' (number 4 for reference) which was indeed small, but not horribly so. Only issue was the bathroom was tiny and shower ran a bit hot and cold at busy times. Staff/Owners were helpful, breakfast good and the house had plenty of board games etc to keep most people busy if you chose to stay around the hotel in the evening. Overall a good place to stay if you want to ride the greenbrier trail and see surrounding area (or come for the roadkill festival). Only niggle would be that room rates could be cheaper given size of room and cabins were too expensive for us to stay in all 3 nights.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if you need lots of space and Rebel cabin is most remote and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in the Lewis Cabin. For $171 night, I expected more. It is advertised as sleeping at least 6 people. However, the sofa bed frame was broken and not able to be used. We were not told this ahead of time. Their solution? Use the tiny bed under the staircase which would work for a child but not my 24 and 26 year old sons. So the only option was a full size futon which didn't fit the 2 of them either. One son had to stay elsewhere. The rugs looked filthy, covered with stains and the furniture and bedspreads looked dirty too. Sheets had stains, towels thin and old. Cabin smelled of urine or mold depending where you stood. They supply no extra toilet paper, trash bags, or paper towels. You are also charged extra if you burn any wood in the fireplace or firepit. Very disappointing and I feel "ripped off".

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We having been staying at the Jerico Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cabins for the last 6 years... This is our vacation to come to WVa. The cabins are great and so is the Bed & Breakfast Inn. We have stayed at 3 different cabins and have found the one we love the most. We also love the Inn. We love their breakfast (too bad they dont do supper). These are the most finest people u will ever meet Tom and his wife Lindy.. The cabins are the cleanest u will ever stay in..I love going there every fall and u will too.. Tell them I sent you..

Room Tip: The Inn and all the cabins r great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We rented the Yank for two nights and had a blast. More than enough room for two people --be warned the hallway is narrow if you're a large person. It looks even better in person than in the website photos. beds are really comfortable , and the kitchen comes well stocked with dishes,pots, utensils etc...
Not alot of bugs at the end of April, but i'm guessing you'll need some serious bug spray later in the season. Grocery store is nearby in town to get supplies and there is a trail a mile away for hiking or biking. The outdoor hot tub could have been hotter, but that's a minor complaint for how cool and different the lodging is. After pricing others nearby, this was a great deal and most authentic .Hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerico Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerico Bed & Breakfast

Address: Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 22 miles from Snowshoe Ski Resort and 1 mile from the Greenbrier River Trail. Accommodations include the Main house with 6 rooms, plus 9 Pre-Civil War log cabins. Rates vary on season, length of stay, number of people, and accommodations. Our mountains and rivers always greet you with adventure for any season. Whatever your budget or desires, Jerico Bed & Breakfast has the perfect room or private cabin to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jerico Bed And Breakfast
Jerico Hotel Marlinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerico Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.