We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the Loring Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerico Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jerico Bed & Breakfast
Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stayed in the Loring Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My daughter (28) & I stayed in the Loring Cabin and both of us fell in love with it; what a gorgeous cabin!. Not only is the cabin lovely but the Greenbrier River allows for a breath taking view as it gently flows. Couldn't imagine anything any sweeter or more peaceful nestled in the beautiful hills of WV. If you've not stayed in the Loring give it a try; my favorite cabin! Awesome workmanship Tom! Thank You!

Room Tip: Great get away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed our first night in the Rebel cabin up on the hill and it was fantastic. Very spacious, great restoration effort especially considering the limitations of the origianl building. Outdoor private hot tub was a nice touch (be warned its programmed to clean itself for 2 hours in the middle of the night and won't stop until finished). Beautiful location, BBQ facilities, plenty of space and homely feel made our night here very special. The next 2 nights were spent in the main inn. We had what they referred to as 'the small room' (number 4 for reference) which was indeed small, but not horribly so. Only issue was the bathroom was tiny and shower ran a bit hot and cold at busy times. Staff/Owners were helpful, breakfast good and the house had plenty of board games etc to keep most people busy if you chose to stay around the hotel in the evening. Overall a good place to stay if you want to ride the greenbrier trail and see surrounding area (or come for the roadkill festival). Only niggle would be that room rates could be cheaper given size of room and cabins were too expensive for us to stay in all 3 nights.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if you need lots of space and Rebel cabin is most remote and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in the Lewis Cabin. For $171 night, I expected more. It is advertised as sleeping at least 6 people. However, the sofa bed frame was broken and not able to be used. We were not told this ahead of time. Their solution? Use the tiny bed under the staircase which would work for a child but not my 24 and 26 year old sons. So the only option was a full size futon which didn't fit the 2 of them either. One son had to stay elsewhere. The rugs looked filthy, covered with stains and the furniture and bedspreads looked dirty too. Sheets had stains, towels thin and old. Cabin smelled of urine or mold depending where you stood. They supply no extra toilet paper, trash bags, or paper towels. You are also charged extra if you burn any wood in the fireplace or firepit. Very disappointing and I feel "ripped off".

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We having been staying at the Jerico Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cabins for the last 6 years... This is our vacation to come to WVa. The cabins are great and so is the Bed & Breakfast Inn. We have stayed at 3 different cabins and have found the one we love the most. We also love the Inn. We love their breakfast (too bad they dont do supper). These are the most finest people u will ever meet Tom and his wife Lindy.. The cabins are the cleanest u will ever stay in..I love going there every fall and u will too.. Tell them I sent you..

Room Tip: The Inn and all the cabins r great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We rented the Yank for two nights and had a blast. More than enough room for two people --be warned the hallway is narrow if you're a large person. It looks even better in person than in the website photos. beds are really comfortable , and the kitchen comes well stocked with dishes,pots, utensils etc...
Not alot of bugs at the end of April, but i'm guessing you'll need some serious bug spray later in the season. Grocery store is nearby in town to get supplies and there is a trail a mile away for hiking or biking. The outdoor hot tub could have been hotter, but that's a minor complaint for how cool and different the lodging is. After pricing others nearby, this was a great deal and most authentic .Hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in the Yank cabin for a couple of nights while biking the Greenbrier River Trail. The cabin had originally been built on Droop Mtn. and was used as a place to tend to wounded soldiers during the Battle of Droop Mtn. A guy named Tom, Jr. owns this place and looks for opportunities to dismantel these beautiful, historic cabins and reconstructs them using a lot of artistry and skill.

The Yank is nestled into the hillside at the end of a holler. It is in fairly close proximity to the main house and a couple of other cabins, but it is very private. It is also extremely quiet with only the sounds of nature to listen to - no road noise here. The noisiest thing we heard were the angus cows waking us up one morning which was actually quite nice.

This cabin is small but fun and the very private back porch with hot tub adds to the living space. Only one cook at a time in the kitchen and the fridge is one of those small bar refridgerators; still it was adequate for us for a couple of days. The kids loved climbing the ladder to their sleeping loft. I just wish there were screens in the two loft windows to allow cool evening air in as it can get very hot in the loft even with the fan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We went to stay in the 2 person cabin - Patton - and had a very good experience. I will recommend this place for its location and the way cabins are built and decorated. Their website is a very good source of information and is NOT misleading at all. Prompt emails and calls; good directions and excellent service left a good mark of this place.

In all this was a very good choice and I recommend this BnB; specially for couples!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerico Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerico Bed & Breakfast

Address: Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 22 miles from Snowshoe Ski Resort and 1 mile from the Greenbrier River Trail. Accommodations include the Main house with 6 rooms, plus 9 Pre-Civil War log cabins. Rates vary on season, length of stay, number of people, and accommodations. Our mountains and rivers always greet you with adventure for any season. Whatever your budget or desires, Jerico Bed & Breakfast has the perfect room or private cabin to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jerico Hotel Marlinton
Jerico Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerico Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jerico Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list