We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Twice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jerico Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jerico Bed & Breakfast
Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Marion, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Think Twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in the Lewis Cabin. For $171 night, I expected more. It is advertised as sleeping at least 6 people. However, the sofa bed frame was broken and not able to be used. We were not told this ahead of time. Their solution? Use the tiny bed under the staircase which would work for a child but not my 24 and 26 year old sons. So the only option was a full size futon which didn't fit the 2 of them either. One son had to stay elsewhere. The rugs looked filthy, covered with stains and the furniture and bedspreads looked dirty too. Sheets had stains, towels thin and old. Cabin smelled of urine or mold depending where you stood. They supply no extra toilet paper, trash bags, or paper towels. You are also charged extra if you burn any wood in the fireplace or firepit. Very disappointing and I feel "ripped off".

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We having been staying at the Jerico Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cabins for the last 6 years... This is our vacation to come to WVa. The cabins are great and so is the Bed & Breakfast Inn. We have stayed at 3 different cabins and have found the one we love the most. We also love the Inn. We love their breakfast (too bad they dont do supper). These are the most finest people u will ever meet Tom and his wife Lindy.. The cabins are the cleanest u will ever stay in..I love going there every fall and u will too.. Tell them I sent you..

Room Tip: The Inn and all the cabins r great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We rented the Yank for two nights and had a blast. More than enough room for two people --be warned the hallway is narrow if you're a large person. It looks even better in person than in the website photos. beds are really comfortable , and the kitchen comes well stocked with dishes,pots, utensils etc...
Not alot of bugs at the end of April, but i'm guessing you'll need some serious bug spray later in the season. Grocery store is nearby in town to get supplies and there is a trail a mile away for hiking or biking. The outdoor hot tub could have been hotter, but that's a minor complaint for how cool and different the lodging is. After pricing others nearby, this was a great deal and most authentic .Hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in the Yank cabin for a couple of nights while biking the Greenbrier River Trail. The cabin had originally been built on Droop Mtn. and was used as a place to tend to wounded soldiers during the Battle of Droop Mtn. A guy named Tom, Jr. owns this place and looks for opportunities to dismantel these beautiful, historic cabins and reconstructs them using a lot of artistry and skill.

The Yank is nestled into the hillside at the end of a holler. It is in fairly close proximity to the main house and a couple of other cabins, but it is very private. It is also extremely quiet with only the sounds of nature to listen to - no road noise here. The noisiest thing we heard were the angus cows waking us up one morning which was actually quite nice.

This cabin is small but fun and the very private back porch with hot tub adds to the living space. Only one cook at a time in the kitchen and the fridge is one of those small bar refridgerators; still it was adequate for us for a couple of days. The kids loved climbing the ladder to their sleeping loft. I just wish there were screens in the two loft windows to allow cool evening air in as it can get very hot in the loft even with the fan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We went to stay in the 2 person cabin - Patton - and had a very good experience. I will recommend this place for its location and the way cabins are built and decorated. Their website is a very good source of information and is NOT misleading at all. Prompt emails and calls; good directions and excellent service left a good mark of this place.

In all this was a very good choice and I recommend this BnB; specially for couples!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Cove, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We arrived at the cabin surrounded by 3 1/2 ft. of beautiful snow and breath taking views. Surprising to my husband I had no difficulty climbing the long driveway in my "little sportscar". The cabin was quite clean, more that enough room, warm and comfortable....& very quiet. We were joined by my son, his wife, 3 grandchildren (7,4, 6 mos) & were amazed at how well we all fit & had our own space. The renovations are done well, both inside and outside. I only ask that the electrical appliances ( i.e. coffee maker, grill, etc.) be ckecked often & replaced when needed. The whole area around Marlinton is one of the most beautiful I have seen and the most friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I already knew from the website that I would have 16 Union soldiers buried in the back of my cabin, "The Yank". But the experience was a little surreal. Perhaps it was the full moon and the heavy mist we had during our stay, but the contribution of all these things to the atmosphere here is undeniable. The cabin itself was definately "modern rustic"-full plumbing, a small TV,gas log fireplace (controls were a little touchy), and of course the hot tub out back. If you enjoy a good herd of cows out the back door in the morning, they come with the place too! Part of the greeting committee is a charming calico kitty that has rarely missed a meal.
Furniture and things like pans, glassware (quite an eclectic collection)and appliances were generally in good condition though far from new. I must say the place was very clean however, especially the bathroom and shower where one can usually expect problems, but not here.
This particular cabin is the furthest from the main house on the primary property, but still closer than I expected. Parking space is very good and not at all treacherous. We peeked into the other cabins nearby and were amused by the heart shaped jacuzzis.
We spent two nights. The day we arrived there was a very large tree down in the back yard that looked like it had fallen half a century ago. When we returned the next day after sight seeing the tree had moved up the hill into the pasture! We thought the resident soldier ghosts had been at work, but we were assured by the owners that it had actually been a man with a chain saw and the tree had only been down since earlier in the summer. I think I'll just think what I want to think.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerico Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerico Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Jerico Bed And Breakfast
Jerico Hotel Marlinton
Jerico Hotel
Address: Jerico Road 19, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 22 miles from Snowshoe Ski Resort and 1 mile from the Greenbrier River Trail. Accommodations include the Main house with 6 rooms, plus 9 Pre-Civil War log cabins. Rates vary on season, length of stay, number of people, and accommodations. Our mountains and rivers always greet you with adventure for any season. Whatever your budget or desires, Jerico Bed & Breakfast has the perfect room or private cabin to make your stay special. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerico Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jerico Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list