We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cranberry Glades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranberry Glades

Cranberry Glades
Marlinton, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Marlinton
Type: National Parks, Forests
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of the Monongahela National Forest where a large number of northern plants, animals and birds dwell.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cranberry Glades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a very nice surprise! The walkway is very well maintained, and the scenery is quite pretty. We enjoyed the serenity. Allow about an hour to take the hike. It is well worth the time and effort. There are rustic restrooms.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glades are for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Boardwalk manageable for all ages, abilities; you might even see a bear! 7 varieties of wild orchids in view of boardwalk during season (early summer); great park center with wildlife displays and indigenous snakes

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlinton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cranberry Glades park.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cranberry Glades park is a small very rural park. It is an excellent place to see undisturbed wild West Virginia. There is a wooden boardwalk around the park over the bog, creeks and woods. For nature lovers as it's a very simple but very nice park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth the visit while you are on the scenic highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We really enjoyed the Cranberry Glades. There is a nice interpretive boardwalk you follow to see the area. It's not a huge investment in time so you can see what else the area has to offer. We also stopped by the Cranberry Mountain Nature Center but it was closed (Tuesdays and Wednesdays).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardela Springs, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cranberry Glades is a walk that is completely on a boardwalk. It is an easy/beautiful/relaxing walk that I highly recommend. I think any age could do this walk with no problems - we even took a stroller with no issues. It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL scenery. We walked it in the rain - which didn't damper my opinion of it at all. It was super nice and I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranberry Glades also viewed

 

Been to Cranberry Glades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranberry Glades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.