We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Save
You added Marlinton Motor Inn Motel to your Saves list
Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The place is from the 50's but updated with a full service nice restaurant with decent/good food. The price was right and was the only place we could find that accepted a one night reservation in advance-others in area require 2 night stay to reserve in advance. We were in the area to bike ride and it was clean, quite and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
6
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed recently while on motorcycles. It is a very good value but it could use a little remodeling. The rooms are large and pretty clean but dated. The restaurant and lounge were unexpected. The lounge seems to have a regular, friendly crowd but the restaurant seems to struggle. There isn't much in Marlinton so this place should be busy. The breakfast was ok but it seemed like an upgrade at chef (no insult intended) could help get this place to the next level. So it is worth a stop and is a good value. It sits along a ni ce motorcycling highway. Give it a shot and see if you don't find it a worthwhile stop. No it isn't fancy but it is friendly and nostalgic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The rooms are large and clean. Plenty of hot water for baths or showers. Nothing fancy, but we were there to clean up and sleep, so it served our needs quite well, and the price was reasonable. We had breakfast and supper at the restaurant. Breakfast was very good, supper was average, but a bit pricy. We will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurtland, Ky
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent the weekend in Marlinton to fish and see some sights. Stayed at the Marlinton Motor Inn while in the area. Hotel is dated but met our needs. Check-in and out went smoothly and the double room was adequate for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marlinton Inn on a motorcycle trip. The hotel is a little dated but there are few choices in Marlinton area.. For the price the hotel is good. Rooms are clean, and the service is ok. A very quiet place to stay, outside town.
We ate in the restaurant and the menu is limited. Breakfast is pricey for what you get. The hotel is about 1-2 miles from the town, so your only choice is to eat in the hotel. There are very few restaurants in the town. If you are looking for fine dining, Marlinton is not the place.
There is a bar in the hotel, drink prices are very reasonable.
Free Wifi, but you have to be at the hotel front desk, or restaurant to connect. Not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and 3 other friends just finished another stay at the Marlinton Motor Inn and we all thought the room was a bargain and the stay was more than fine.

The rooms are always very clean and the people are friendly with a dash of extra personality for entertainment. The front office people never fail to be friendly and helpful.

The restaurant food is also fine. This isn't the Waldorf but the food was tasty and convenient to our rooms. After a long day of terrific motorcycle riding in the mountains, it is nice to be able to walk a few yards for a decent meal, relax and tell lies about our riding proficiencies. We were made to feel very welcome at every meal in the restaurant and the bar.

After several stays here, we have yet to have a bad stay....(although we were disappointed that we did not see any ghosts ;-) )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my first time back to this motel since I was a teenager headed up to Snowshoe with my father. I'm 47 and nothing has changed. The reason we stayed then and the reason I stayed with my family this time is because it's relatively close to Snowshoe, and cheap. For those who make a long drive to the remote resort, it is conveniently located so that the next morning one can hit the slopes at 9:00am without much additional driving.

Here's what we found. The motel was approximately 60% occupied yet, with these numbers, they have 20 year old televisions, with non-working remotes. There is no internet, anywhere on the premises. The toilet was not what I would consider sanitized. Beds were reasonably comfortable, but when I inquired about having three travelers and needing two queens or one king and a roll-out - I was told that there was no such option, double beds were standard or I could have one king with no room for a rollout. Baloney! There's plenty of room for a roll-out. So the wife and I had to snuggle up in a bouncy spring double bed. Not good. On top of this we paid extra for a third person. We found this odd. Motels used to do this thirty years ago.

Now on to the restaurant. We tried breakfast, expecting something quick and hot. We got hot but not quick. It's a shame that there was no buffet and there was no mention of the restaurant in the room. If we weren't told about breakfast at check-in, we wouldn't know it was available. With 60 percent occupancy and 90 percent of those people headed up to Snowshoe early in the morning with no restaurants to speak of between the hotel and the resort (20 miles), I'm sure they could have marketed this a bit better. We ordered a sit down breakfast from the menu and it took too long. But the food was good and the coffee very good. We had to wait for our ticket and this annoyed me greatly because we were risking missing slope time as the minutes ticked away.

They should recognize their niche, the Snowshoe traveler, and invest a little bit into catering to these folks. Internet service is expected nowadays as are TV's that work. With the occupancy they presumably have the money to invest in the property, which is severely deficient. Next trip I am staying at the bottom of Snowshoe in a motel that better fits this niche, and doesn't feel like a seedy trip back in time.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlinton Motor Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.