We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Stay in the Mountains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Marlinton
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quiet Stay in the Mountains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marlinton Inn on a motorcycle trip. The hotel is a little dated but there are few choices in Marlinton area.. For the price the hotel is good. Rooms are clean, and the service is ok. A very quiet place to stay, outside town.
We ate in the restaurant and the menu is limited. Breakfast is pricey for what you get. The hotel is about 1-2 miles from the town, so your only choice is to eat in the hotel. There are very few restaurants in the town. If you are looking for fine dining, Marlinton is not the place.
There is a bar in the hotel, drink prices are very reasonable.
Free Wifi, but you have to be at the hotel front desk, or restaurant to connect. Not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
5
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and 3 other friends just finished another stay at the Marlinton Motor Inn and we all thought the room was a bargain and the stay was more than fine.

The rooms are always very clean and the people are friendly with a dash of extra personality for entertainment. The front office people never fail to be friendly and helpful.

The restaurant food is also fine. This isn't the Waldorf but the food was tasty and convenient to our rooms. After a long day of terrific motorcycle riding in the mountains, it is nice to be able to walk a few yards for a decent meal, relax and tell lies about our riding proficiencies. We were made to feel very welcome at every meal in the restaurant and the bar.

After several stays here, we have yet to have a bad stay....(although we were disappointed that we did not see any ghosts ;-) )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my first time back to this motel since I was a teenager headed up to Snowshoe with my father. I'm 47 and nothing has changed. The reason we stayed then and the reason I stayed with my family this time is because it's relatively close to Snowshoe, and cheap. For those who make a long drive to the remote resort, it is conveniently located so that the next morning one can hit the slopes at 9:00am without much additional driving.

Here's what we found. The motel was approximately 60% occupied yet, with these numbers, they have 20 year old televisions, with non-working remotes. There is no internet, anywhere on the premises. The toilet was not what I would consider sanitized. Beds were reasonably comfortable, but when I inquired about having three travelers and needing two queens or one king and a roll-out - I was told that there was no such option, double beds were standard or I could have one king with no room for a rollout. Baloney! There's plenty of room for a roll-out. So the wife and I had to snuggle up in a bouncy spring double bed. Not good. On top of this we paid extra for a third person. We found this odd. Motels used to do this thirty years ago.

Now on to the restaurant. We tried breakfast, expecting something quick and hot. We got hot but not quick. It's a shame that there was no buffet and there was no mention of the restaurant in the room. If we weren't told about breakfast at check-in, we wouldn't know it was available. With 60 percent occupancy and 90 percent of those people headed up to Snowshoe early in the morning with no restaurants to speak of between the hotel and the resort (20 miles), I'm sure they could have marketed this a bit better. We ordered a sit down breakfast from the menu and it took too long. But the food was good and the coffee very good. We had to wait for our ticket and this annoyed me greatly because we were risking missing slope time as the minutes ticked away.

They should recognize their niche, the Snowshoe traveler, and invest a little bit into catering to these folks. Internet service is expected nowadays as are TV's that work. With the occupancy they presumably have the money to invest in the property, which is severely deficient. Next trip I am staying at the bottom of Snowshoe in a motel that better fits this niche, and doesn't feel like a seedy trip back in time.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was decent. It is outdated looking but everything worked and everything was clean.
The free wi-fi is only in a little room behind the office, but they are more than happy for you to use it.
We used this hotel as a base for skiing at Snowshoe and it was a much cheaper alternative to staying on the mountain.

We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a cheap last minute booking for one night after skiing at Snowshoe which is about 20 miles away. For the most part, the room and furnishings are just old or old looking. Outdated, worn out bathroom as well. I'm sure they clean the rooms daily but because of age it looks dingy. Never saw any bugs or anything of that nature. Staff is friendly. Restaurant and lounge on-site. Although it was closed and not filled, the swimming pool looks new. Basically, if you want cheap accommodations that are close to Snowshoe Mountain and you're not at all picky, this place will do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights because the cabin we rented at Watoga state park had snakes in it. Yes as soon as we got our cabin we killed 2 poisonous snakes coming out of the fireplace so we got the hell out. They recommended the marlinton Motor Inn, so we went. Check in went smooth and fast. The rooms were surprisingly clean and smelled fresh. People complain about dim lighting but I didn't find that to be a problem with about 5 different lighting options in the room. The walls are made of wood (cabin feel) so maybe thats why they complain about the lighting I don't know but not a problem for us, was lit very well. Bathroom was clean and updated. Our kids swam in the very large and fun shaped swimming pool. The staff was courteous with information about local places etc. The parking lot and grounds were exceptionally clean, not a cigarette butt on the ground anywhere. The restaurant and lounge was clean and comfortable but the food was average at best. Nothing homemade here and they must buy the bottom of the totem pole food from their distributor. Dinner was $100 for 4 adults and 2 toddlers. We tried breakfast it was a little better (hard to screw up omelets) although pricey for $8 omelets. I suggest eating on down the road unless your used to tv dinner fare. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back 300 section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were on a motorcycle trip and hit some nasty weather including hail. No fun. We arrived at the Marlinton and they couldn't have been nicer. Since almost all the clothes we had in our bags were soaked they let us use their clothes dryer while we ate dinner. Dinner was good and waitress was very friendly. Room was clean as was bathroom/shower. They even let us park our bikes under the cover of the porch outside our room to get them out of the storms that came through over night. Pool looked nice and clean even though we didn't get to use it. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: We had the last room on the left side. 110 I think it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Location: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlinton Motor Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marlinton Motor Inn Motel to your Saves list