We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in paradise . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngaio Bay Ecostay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlborough Sounds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngaio Bay Ecostay B&B
Save
You added Ngaio Bay Ecostay B&B to your Saves list
Ngaio Bay, French Pass Road, 7193, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Fujieda, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three days in paradise . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Like the previous reviewer, we dream of Ngaio Bay now we are back here in Japan where it is not possible to find any such location or way of resting and relaxing. The weather was perfect and so was the food. Roger took us on a boat trip and indulged my passion for photography to the full. But it was the perfect peace and quiet that I will never forget.

Room Tip: Sea Breeze cottage is a little piece of heaven - exquisitely quiet, fully equipped, spacious and wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was the favorite B&B of our trip. It is a long 2.5 hour drive from the nearest cities, but the scenery is worth it. Dinner was included (there's nowhere to buy food nearby), and it was the best food we had in New Zealand: delicious meats and veggies. We walked for several hours along the rocky beach, right off their property. Beautiful and relaxing! The room was comfortable, with great views. It was pricier than other places we stayed at, but worth it, especially with the dinner included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our small family spent 2 nights in the seabreeze cottage in April 2012. The cottage is private and comfortably appointed. Breakfasts and dinners held in the main house were delicious and a wonderful opportunity to meet the hosts and learn more about the area. Roger cooked the most delicious fish caught specially for us. Our toddler was quite taken by Roger, the friendly dogs and the wonderful toys which were available for sharing. We loved the seclusion and natural beauty of Ngaio bay. The bath on the beach is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Coolum Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent five days at Ngaio Bay in December 2011 and had a wonderful time. It was well worth the 2 hour drive from Picton through beautiful scenery. Jude and Roger are excellent hosts and made everyone feel at home instantly. Our accommodation was very comfortable with beautiful views from our window. It rained for a couple of days while we were there and we didn’t mind a bit. Jude is an excellent cook and every mealtime was a delight; eating and chatting to other guests and comparing travel notes. Roger took my husband fishing in his dinghy and my husband couldn’t believe how many fish he caught in such a short time - and then the blue cod appeared on our table at dinner time – can’t get fresher than that. We went for a couple of lovely walks and when it was too rainy Jude kept me supplied with books from her library and DVDs to watch. My husband loved soaking in the hot bath on the beach in the rain with an umbrella in one hand and a glass of red in the other. We loved the company of the dogs. We can’t recommend this B & B highly enough and really hope to get back there one day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We (myself, husband, 4 year old daughter and 2 year old son) stayed here last November. It is a truly magical place. Our room was cosy rather than luxurious but this fitted with the wonderful feeling that rather than being at a B&B you are actually staying with friends. Roger and Jude were fantastic hosts, we greatly enjoyed meal times where we got to find out about local stories and had a real insight into what living in such a remote and beautiful part of the world is like. The fire bath on the beach was just heavenly - you almost had to pinch yourself to believe you were somewhere so beautiful. Oh, and the self composting tiger worm filled toilet fascinated the kids! A must stay if you are in this part of the world and worth every minute of the 2 hour drive off the main road to get there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A bit of a windy drive but well worth it. The views on the way in are fantastic, as are the views from the property itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights after a few weeks travelling and what a relaxing, welcoming and beautiful place to stay. Jude and Roger have created an island paradise within an island paradise. Their garden is a treasure, Jude's cooking is superb, and bathtime on the beach was the highlight of our trip!
The road to it is long and winding; the first half of the journey fools you into thinking you are nearly there but the effort is worth it!

Room Tip: If you want a view, book Sea Breeze cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngaio Bay Ecostay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngaio Bay Ecostay B&B

Address: Ngaio Bay, French Pass Road, 7193, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Marlborough Sounds
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngaio Bay Ecostay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.