We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mountain retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Lost River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lost River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Lost River
Save
You added Guesthouse Lost River to your Saves list
288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect mountain retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my second trip to the Guesthouse, the first being nearly a year ago. The guys have really got the service down now... it was perfect... and the entire property looked fresh, cozy and inviting. The food coming out of the restaurant is excellent, and they have added a nice lunch menu so guest can stay by the pool uninterrupted.

I certainly intend to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
140
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks Gary and Michael for being amazing hosts. The property is beautiful, food was great and the rooms were very cozy. Even though the weather didn't cooperate, my husband and I had a great time. A great quiet escape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a four-day stay at the Guest House at Lost River, and cannot begin to thank Michael and Gary enough for the wonderful visit. The serene setting, comfortable accommodations, expansive amenities, and accessibility allowed for a quiet and low-key celebration for us. At the self-contained "resort" we enjoyed the pool, beautiful lounge and exceptional dining during our stay. The staff was helpful but not intrusive and met every requested need. Highly recommend the Guesthouse at Lost River for anyone wishing to escape, reflect AND celebrate. Thanks, Guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found the Guest House through LivingSocial and it did not disappoint. Michael and Gary have established a wonderful escape close to the DC/Baltimore area. We booked this trip for a Valentine's weekend, looking for a romantic escape combined with a little skiing (Canaan Valley). The room was lovely. The breakfast was hearty (perfect for skiing). And dinner was delicious. We have booked to return in July so that we can explore more of the quiet country side. This really is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Guesthouse for a weekend and were in awe the entire time—of the views, the incredible space (the main lodge, guesthouse, cabins, everything!), and the incredibly warm and inviting reception received upon our arrival from Gary and Jesse. Definitely make time to eat whenever you can at the Guesthouse—lunch on the patio, drinks by the pool, happy hour, dinner, and of course, breakfast. Our dinner was phenomenal (we had the special shrimp and sausage with penne and sundried tomato cream sauce and the flank steak which was beyond words delicious), and we had to have dessert—the famous cheesecake and hot fudge sundae brownie! YUM! Tucked in the WV hills, the Guesthouse should be added to your must-see places! (I was there on assignment for WV LIVING Magazine...be sure to check us out and read about the Guesthouse in the Fall 2013 issue!)

Room Tip: Rooms in the Guesthouse overlooking the pool had amazing views and beautiful breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is almost heaven in West Virginia. A lovely setting, easy to get to, tucked away, with a great pool area, lodge setting, etc. A lovely mix of both gay and straight patrons made for a really fun memorial day weekend. I've gone before, I'll go again! Tammy gives one of the best massages I've ever had, so don't miss that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse this last weekend! Absolutely amazing! Staff was extremely friendly and true meaning of hospitality! Food was also excellent! Overall an amazing experience. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Lost River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.