We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our WOW wedding at the Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Lost River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lost River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Lost River
Save
You added Guesthouse Lost River to your Saves list
288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our WOW wedding at the Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I just got married at the Guesthouse and they made it so easy! Jesse and Gary are great to work with and the whole staff was excellent all weekend. We didn't worry about a thing and could not stop thanking them for exceeding our expectations over and over again. The bridal suite is gorgeous and the guest rooms were all phenomenal. The property is so beautiful and well decorated that we honestly didn't add a SINGLE thing. The views are ridiculous and since we were there for the whole weekend, our guests got to spread out and enjoy all the awesome nooks and crannies this property has to offer. The Guesthouse is the perfect mix of nature and luxury in one truly special getaway spot. Other reviewers note that photos cannot do it justice and it is the truth. Every inch of the place is tasteful, interesting and cozy. I will be forever grateful that we chose such a magical place to get married and I can't wait to go back for multiple weekend getaways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
140
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed recently at the Guesthouse for a wedding and thought it was awesome. The room was big, they had Molton Brown bath products, I loved the bar, the exercise room was surprisingly good for a small inn (15 rooms maybe?). They have a gorgeous pool, but it was too cold to enjoy it -- would have been great for cocktails. There are no TVs in the room, but I think I saw at least one, maybe two in the lodge. The whole place is well-done. I was expecting a glorified cabin and was really surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just came back from a wedding at the Guesthouse Lost River and had a fantastic time. They have created a wonderful atmosphere. The rooms are clean and comfy, but the real treat is the number of living rooms and lounges they have at the lodge.

They also make a great breakfast - ask about the biscuits!

Room Tip: Try to get on the second floor, the view is a bit nicer and probably has more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived here on a Saturday night for a couple of nights over a long weekend. The management was accommodating during the reservation process, allowing a late check-in despite a 2-6 pm check-in time. Upon arrival, they showed us the many amenities, over what can only be described as a campus for a B&B. The guest houses had a restaurant, spa, hot-tub, steam room, kitchen, gym, pool and many separate rooms for lounging about. We were showed to our room, which was quite rustic. Our room had a shared balcony with a nice view. Our dinner at the Inn was slightly upscale home-cooking with pleasant, albeit a little forgetful service.
There was a range of guests from highly gregarious to reserved with enough space to accommodate the range (although it always seems like the reserved have to move, don't we?).

Room Tip: Talk with management about your wishes regarding view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This truly is an amazing B&B/hotel nestled in the mountains, just two hours from DC. If you need some time to recharge and relax from the busy and hectic work week, this is the perfect location and place to do so! The rooms have a modern, rustic feel and the bathroom amenities are from Moulton Brown!! The free morning breakfast, served family style, is a great way to meet new people and it's delicious to boot! The pool, gym, bar, and on-site restaurant just add to the impressive place the GuestHouse is. We were absolutely surprised on our visit and have already planned to come back on a regular basis! Best kept secret (it won't be for long).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

All I can say is I had the most enjoyable, relaxing, stress-free weekend I've had in along time. Great hosts, the room was warm and comfortable and the food was excellent. A great find for my partner and I, we're already planning our next trip. If you need to get away from it all, this is the perfect place to do it. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesvill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

What a wonderful weekend! It was very hard to leave. The tranquility of the mountains can't be beat. Everything about The Guest House was beyond my expectations. You thought of everything to make someone feel like they were staying in their own home. Excellent food and the best sleep I've had in a very long time. I'm really looking forward to trying your other cottages. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Lost River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.