We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Lost River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lost River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Lost River
Save
You added Guesthouse Lost River to your Saves list
288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great place to get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I loved my visit there the staff where friendly the rooms where clean and the place was just beautiful inside and out and the food there is great. I will be staying there again no questions asked. Thank you to all of the staff for you great hospitality.

Mr. Commando.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as guests and we look forward to having you back to the Guesthouse soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
140
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Some friends and I booked a last minute trip from DC for the weekend. It was a first time visit after a suggestion of some friends in DC. It was just about two hours door to door. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed one of the cabaret shows. The food was excellent and they made a mean Ketel One dirty martini! I brought my dog which was great! She loved being out there and had fun (FYI there was a minimal fee). The views are stunning and I didn't want to leave! The sunrise/sunsets were spectacular and I don't think I have ever seen so many stars! Cheers to the hosts and staff. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: The upper level in the main building has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as guests! The entire Guesthouse staff looks forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice quite place with web access but no wireless phone service. Bar, restaurant food, and staff are just fantastic! I like to do two holiday a year at least. You just cannot beat the price and resort services with close proximity to DC. Great for couples and friends that just want to spend some time together.

Room Tip: Call about pet room, there are few restrictions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and it was our pleasure to have you as guests! We look forward to having you back to the Guesthouse soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have been heard such good things about this place for years, but never followed through and booked a room. A last minute desire to head out of DC for Labor Day, I checked out the website and booked two nights. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home. Intimate setting tucked into the mountainside, cozy room and relaxing atmosphere. Met a lot of new people from all over the area. Liked it so much, we booked another stay over the Columbus Day weekend. Totally different group of people, different vibe, but still wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Somewhere early on (like about an hour after we arrived) we realized we were probably going to be one of a only 2 straight couples. We'd not done a lot of extensive research and we are now glad we dind't because we might not have gone, and that would have been truly a shame. Bob, David and Tammy are the most gracious, accommodating and fun-loving innkeepers we've run across in a very long time. The clientele, at least during our stay, was a wonderful combination of overnight guests are folks around the neighborhood who call the Guest House their watering hole. Mostly DC weekenders and without exception wonderful people. Have at least one dinner in the dining room. Outstanding cuisine and service. You'll spend a couple of bucks, but youre on vacation...save somewhere else. The property is absolutely beautiful. Our room was small and rustic, which we liked. The real charm is all of the common areas with great sitting rooms, game rooms and the warm lodge feel to it all. We will be back soon and can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our hosts and the community feel they have created at the Guest House.

Room Tip: If you're into tv and technology check in advance. Good wireless service but not tv in every ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed during the labor day weekend and had a wonderful time. Very secluded resort, well maintained, with a very friendly hosts. Kind of isolated with no TV and no phone in the room but we spent the time mostly outdoors.

A great weekend retreat get away from bustling dc metro living. We'll be back hopefully during fall foliage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We spent just one night to get away from the worst effects of Hurricane Irene, and enjoyed the exceptionally friendly welcome and the excellent, fairly-priced dinner in the very comfortable dining room. Despite the wonderfully out-of-the way location, there’s a lively bar area, and the largest count of guest lounges I’ve ever come across. But the bedroom, in the Guest House itself, was in comparison a little disappointing, and in need of some updating; and I guess some might find the ‘family-style’ breakfast (summoned by a gong at 9am sharp!) rather too regimented, and the range somewhat limited.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Lost River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.