We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost River Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Lost River Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
8079 State Route 259, Lost River, WV 26810   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
King George, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Lost River B&B the weekend of 5/11/12 to get away from the kids for a few days. The deal we got was through LivingSocial, so it included two nights (with breakfast, of course), 1-hour horseback ride, $45 dinner voucher and a $20 lunch voucher at their restaurant, and a wine and Hors d'oeuvres night on Saturday. The hospitality is top notch and the accommodations are very comfortable.

If you are looking for a place with lots of "touristy" stuff to do, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a place to get away, relax, and just sit down and enjoy life, then you need to go here.

The Lost River Grill was an excellent place to have lunch and dinner. The menu had a wide variety of things to choose from, and had some unique and delicious creations. Service was excellent and friendly.

The highlight of our trip was the horse ride through some trails at the Lost River National Park.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the house was relatively modern. We didn't expect them to make the bed and clean up while we were out! Very sneaky! We felt like VIP's when we came downstairs on Saturday and saw the wine glasses and hors d'oeuvres set up for us.

There is Wi-Fi, although you may not get a good signal in your room depending on which side of the house you're on. The best signal is on the side facing the restaurant. We were also able to get a decent cell signal (AT&T) if we sat at the little bench in the front lawn. But when you come here to relax, it's probably better to be "off the grid" for a few days!!

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on facing the restaurant have Wi-Fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our visit was fun. We're very ourdoor-oriented people so spending the day hiking Lost Creek State Park was great for us. This is not the retreat for just anyone. Unless you're content to keep youselves occupied or to do nothing (absoluety nothing, which is great for some) this may be too boring for you.

Here are the pluses:

Larry let us use our lunch vouchers to pack a picnic for our summit climb.
The happy-hour spread was fun and tasty.

GM Larry was a gem himself, providing lots of info and advice about the area.

Here are the minuses:

Of all of the B&Bs we've stayed in (we're not experts by any stretch), this was the least informative. No resident was on-site overnight, yet there was no info about whom to contact if you needed anything or if there was an emergency. Also, there was no info about whether guests could use the fridge or dishes.

Biggest minus of all: Hair! I am super grossed out by other-people's hair. It was on our bath mat and bath towels. The long-dark hairs were neither mine nor my husband's.

Minor minus - my blueberry muffin, which was wrapped in plastic, had mold on the top. After I ate half of it and realized why it was green, I couldn't eat anything else. Even on our second morning we joked about not being able to have anything but the coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timinlostriver, Owner at Lost River Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Sorry we disappointed you. I am the owner and was on site each night. If you were not told, the customary language upon arrival is "make yourself at home". The kitchen is there for our guests minus the stove. With regards to the muffin, we'll have to do a better job at policing that. It obviously was not rotated properly in the basket and for that I will speak to my staff about as well as making sure the last guests do not leave anything behind. Frankly this is only the second negative review we have had so we must have just missed the mark with your visit all the way around. Please visit us again. Sorry, can't do anything about you being bored. Our guests customarily find plenty to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the Lost River B & B this past weekend, and we had a fantastic time. Our room was clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The owner, Tim, was lovely and made sure that we had everything we needed for a fabulous weekend. The continental breakfast was great and the coffee (something I am pretty picky about) was quite good! The B & B is very close to Lost River State park and the views in the valley are great. We also ate at the Lost River Bar and Grill and met a host of fun and lively locals and weekenders. Larry, the manager, was great and we felt like we were staying with old friends from day 1. In fact, one night, Tim even kept the bar open just for us so my boyfriend and I could unwind as long as we wanted. We will absolutely be back and I would highly recommend this place for a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. The bed was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

LOVED THIS PLACE! We needed a weekend away and found the perfect place. Great people who own it. Quiet and comfy rooms. Complimentary wine in your room when you check in. Wine and cheese on Saturdays to get the people staying there get together and talk and continental breakfast every morning. And food at the restaurant - was phenomenal! We will definitely be going back. Thank you social living for showing us this place with the coupon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My fiancee and I got the Living Social weekend deal like the prior reviewer and stayed in the bed-and-breakfast house. The place is lovely. The food was absolutely delicious and came in large portions. As noted, free wi-fi, although the signal isn't very strong once you leave the lounge. Tim, the proprietor, personally asked after our needs and ran missing supplies up to us. Oh, and the wine provided was from a local vineyard and was delicious!

My only quibbles would be that a) the only TV in the B&B is downstairs, b) the food would be mildly expensive if not covered in the voucher -- the prices are that of a good restaurant and the vouchers of $30 for lunch and $45 for dinner were enough for the two of us to have a hearty, personalized meal, with leftovers for the next day, and c) the B&B is as drafty as a converted farmhouse (which it is) so although the thermostat was set to the high 70's, we still had to make ample use of the provided covers.

That said, we had a wonderful time and plan to revisit in another few years. Bit of advice, if you're coming in in the evening, get the directions from Tim. GPS devices and Google Maps will try to route you through the mountains, a technically shorter path, but one involving narrow winding roads and hairpin curves. Save those roads for the next day, when you can drive down them in daylight and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely decorated. The top floor room has a second exit onto a deck, but also ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We found this place through living social and it exceeded expectations. The bed and breakfast was absolutely beautiful, very clean, and had a wonderful staff. The Bar and Grill had great food and the staff was very helpful and friendly with directions and recommendations about what to do during the day. We will definitely be making a trip back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We purchased the LivingSocial special for Lost River B&B and it was one of the best purchases we've made so far! The host and hostess were very nice, the little bit that we saw of them. We were told to make ourselves at home and we did just that. The meals at the Bar and Grill were very good and there was plenty of food. We received a bottle of wine when we arrived and it wasn't a cheap wine either. It was wonderful! Needless to say, I'll be looking for some more. We came down from an afternoon nap on the second day to find cheese, crackers and more wine. If we had anything to complain about it would that the house was a little too cold for us, but I think it's because it's old and difficult to heat since the thermostat we saw was set at 71 degrees.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost River Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost River Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8079 State Route 259, Lost River, WV 26810
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Applachians in Hardy County, WV Lost River Bed & Breakfast is comfort made simple in a restored country farmhouse. Each of our sleeping quarters provides a private bath, queen sized bed and the comfort one expects from a country Inn. Start your day with a continental breakfast, take in a novel on one of two screened porches, or simpley spend the evening next to the fireplace. Take a hike or horse back ride in Lost River State Park, relax on the sandy beach at Trout Pond Recreation Center or shop for a local craft at the Artisans Co-op. Two hours from the Nations Capital, our B&B is steps away from the GW National Forest and only an hours drive from Winchester and Harrisonburg, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lost River Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost River Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.