We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Setting, Gracious Hosts, Gourmet Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Lost River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lost River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Lost River
Save
You added The Inn at Lost River to your Saves list
7015 State Road 259, Lost River, WV 26810   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Country Setting, Gracious Hosts, Gourmet Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed mid-week in October…..previous reviewers capture our thoughts….
"What a wonderful inn! Toni and Ted are welcoming and warm. The impeccably decorated inn is immaculate and set in very pretty country. The breakfasts were awesome, custom prepared and using the best ingredients"
"They even have a super cool little general store and coffee shop adjacent to the Inn. A Lovely stream flows by the house and the grounds invite you to relax during your stay."
"Toni and Ted, the owners of the Inn, have done a phenomenal job creating a comfortable, luxurious, and inviting place to stay in the heart of Lost River. Never have I stayed at a B&B where I felt I had such a nice balance of of privacy and an open invitation to make myself feel at home."
…..delighted" with the warmness, hospitality, and genuine kindness of Toni, Ted, and the Inn staff. They provided helpful recommendations, made reservations on our behalf for nearby activities.
This is a great launching point for many scenic spots…..we look forward to staying again next spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathiasharvey, Owner at The Inn at Lost River, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We thank you for your gracious comments and look forward to seeing you in the Spring!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week traveling West Virginia, including four nights at the Greenbrier, followed by a single night at the Inn at Lost River. With 20/20 hindsight, might have been better to spend four nights with Ted and Toni at the Inn at Lost River, followed by a single night at the Greenbrier. Their inn is wonderful, the setting tranquil, and the dinner and breakfast they prepared for us were both delectable. A wonderful place, with wonderful hosts!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a wonderful inn! Toni and Ted are welcoming and warm. The impeccably decorated inn is immaculate and set in very pretty country. The breakfasts were awesome, custom prepared and using the best ingredients. I am not a B & B person so I wasn't expecting to be that happy but I was. I even got to go next door and feed the donkeys. I would go back. Note to gadget addicted people such as myself. There is no cell phone service in the area and the wifi is wonky. If these things are deal breakers you would not be happy and Toni and Ted would deserve better than that. I got over it for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathiasharvey, Owner at The Inn at Lost River, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful comments!

We are very happy that you were able to “disconnect”, breathe, relax and unwind for the weekend.
Cell phone service is available at the Inn for AT&T customers throughout the property with our mini cell phone tower. Free WiFi is always available in the Gathering Room and at the Lost River General Store.
It was great having you and listening to your postive contributions and incredible journey. Let us know when the book is published!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Thanks to others who have left excellent reviews and the fact that the inn had a last minute cancellation, we were lucky enough to have spent the weekend with our hosts Toni and Ted at the Inn at Lost River. The hospitality and service were outstanding. We had the most relaxing weekend eating, horseback riding, going to yoga classes and reading. We had dinner at the Lost River Brewing Company on Friday night in Wardensville about 20 minutes away. The drive was beautiful and the food and service were great. On Saturday night, we decided to stay at the inn for dinner- which I believe they serve only on Saturday nights. Toni and Ted are amazing cooks. Not only was the dinner and service exceptional, but the breakfast included with your stay is delicious. They are very accommodating and wonderful hosts. We felt VERY spoiled all weekend. This is a great place to stay for a romantic and relaxing getaway!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I were in Lost Creek for a conference and booked our stay for the night at the Inn at Lost River. Wow, what a magnificent property! The Innkeepers and owners, Toni and Ted, are so cool, so accommodating and friendly, and have done a bang up job renovating this property to a first class lodging and dining establishment. They even have a super cool little general store and coffee shop adjacent to the Inn. A Lovely stream flows by the house and the grounds are ample and inviting to roam around to relax during your stay. Loved it, can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: we stayed in the main house, which was wonderful. I did see a cottage room that looked awesome, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Lost River Inn the third week in October. It was amazing, and the fall foilage was to die for. Toni and Ted were great hosts; we felt very welcome and were well taken care of. We stayed in the Springhouse, which was extremely comfortable with its own private bath and a screened in porch. All the rooms looked great though, and each had a private bath. Also, the breakfast was truly amazing. We had dinner one night as well, which was among the best I have ever experienced. Be sure to make time to explore the general store next door. Fun place. Easy drive from the DC area. I would highly recommend the Inn at Lost River. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathiasharvey, Owner at The Inn at Lost River, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Having great guests makes innkeeping a pleasure! Thank you for your gracious comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Toni and Ted are the best B&B hosts ever. Toni helped set up activities with me before we got there (highly recommend canoeing!). Then we arrived and found a super nice inn, a cute general store next door, and our room had this cute patio and we were surprised to be given wine and the most delicious cheese and fresh fruit. What we didn't realize was that this was just the beginning. The next morning we pretty much got a gourmet homemade breakfast that put any restaurant to shame. All in all, it was a wonderful stay and we highly recommend it. It's about 2-2.5 hours from DC.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lost River

Address: 7015 State Road 259, Lost River, WV 26810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Virginia's Lost River Valley the restored 1870's farmhouse and Lost River General Store & Cafe are an hour from Harrisonburg, VA and 2 1/2 hours from Washington, DC. Enjoy casual country elegance in West Virginia's Appalachian Mountains. Each of the three rooms in the Main House and the two small cottages are appointed with a blend of country modern and antique furnishings. Enjoy comfortable West Virginia hospitality. Breathe, relax and unwind in The Inn at Lost River's quiet simplicity. The Inn at Lost River is open from mid-April to mid-December ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Lost River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.