We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Cafe

Stardust Cafe
102 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-647-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“delightful and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Stardust Cafe is a gem in the town of Lewisburg, WV. Nestled in the mountains is a truly unique eatery. The story of the restaurant is a true love story and the evolution into a fine culinary delight will have diners returning at every opportunity. My meal was non-pasta pasta (zucchini) with fresh marinara, ricotta and cheese! For dessert a flour less chocolate torte was melt-in-the-mouth delicious. My husband had the special, which lived up to its name! Chicken and sausage cacciatore. He finished with a lemon tart. They also have a great selection of beers and wines. The owner, chef and waitstaff made you feel at home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    41
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“small but mighty make a reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

sauces excellent, vegetarian dish unusual combination excellent flavors. Good wine list.serving staff excellent

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, locally sourced product, inventively prepared -- Great choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are attending a conference at the nearby Greenbrier and we wanted to leave the resort to explore Lewisburg. After research, we chose the Stardust because we love restaurants that emphasize locally sourced product. The first night, a Saturday, we were unable together a same-day reservation, but they held two seats at the bar for us. The grilled artichoke and lemon spinach appetizer was fresh and light, and my entree of zucchini cut into pasta-like ribbons, with fresh tomato sauce and fresh house-made ricotta was outstanding. My husband had a delicious grilled steak, with the meat sourced from a nearby farm. They have an excellent wine list with many reasonable choices, including a wide array of wine by he glass. Tonight we returned with a friend and the food was again delicious (cold cucumber and dill soup, with the dill from their garden -- and the pasta was served with a homemade Italian sausage and homemade marinara with roasted red peppers, basil, and fresh house-made ricotta. Homemade angel food cake with raspberry sauce for dessert.) Our server was friendly and knowledgeable and in all, it was a memorable meal. This restaurant would hold its own anywhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Farm-to-Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have eaten here three times in the past 7 months when we are in Lewisburg, twice for lunch and most recently for dinner, just this past week. Everything is extraordinarily fresh and flavorful. The grape tomatoes in our house salads tasted like little heirloom tomatoes. The menu is varied and everything we've had was very well prepared. At dinner, I started with the grilled artichokes, served with parmesan and basil on spinach. Terrific. Several of our party had pasta with pesto, which can be an ordinary dish, but it was excellent. Two others had the seared Ginger-Garlic Tuna on Rice Noodles, and one had the Chicken Curry. Everyone was very pleased with their meals. The service is quite professional and also friendly. On this particular evening, it was a little slow, but the restaurant was packed. The waitress was solicitous and accommodating.

The lunches we've had there are always a wonderful surprise in that they are just so good -- and the menu is full of original dishes that are often a spin on classics or are great ideas that no one else has thought of. My 17 year-old daughter had the Naked Burger, and hoped to order that again when we returned for dinner...Three Months Later. (The meat was local and delicious.) I had the "Trust Me" Salad with chicken (a delicious combination of grains, seeds, nuts, dried cranberries, feta, avocado and moist chicken breast) and another time "The Best BLT" which was, actually, great. (Local bacon [?] and those amazing tomatoes.) The husband had different selections of their original sandwiches each time, and was delighted.

We will go here every time we are in Lewisburg. Oh - also very reasonably priced. And the owner is originally from NYC(!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went here with friends for dinner. Excellent service, wonderful food, huge portions, and the staff was very friendly and attentive to all of our needs. Great menu selection and the atmosphere was great. Everyone seemed relaxed and enjoying everyone's company over delicious food. Would recommend this place to any of my friends, I already have!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stardust Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stardust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.