We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Cafe

Stardust Cafe
102 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-647-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Customer service is so bad it warrants taking 15 minutes out of a day to rant about it on a website. I'm not sure if they lack social skills, if the culture there is so bad that they take it out on customers, or if they're that arrogant.

Experience #1 - we went to Stardust in Summer 2012 around 2:30pm for dessert. We had heard it was the best thing about the restaurant, so we scheduled our trip to Lewisburg around having dessert for lunch. Their desserts are behind a counter, so all it takes is a quick microwave or plating. We walked in, and without saying hello, the host behind the counter said, "WE ARE NOT TAKING TABLES. WE CLOSE FROM 3:00-5:00." "Oh well, we're just going to sit at the bar and grab dessert, we'll be gone by 3:00 for sure." "NO, WE CLOSE FROM 3:00-5:00." "Yes, but it's 2:30, and we'll be gone in 15 minutes." "I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE NOT GETTING ABOUT US CLOSING FROM 3:00-5:00." "I don't understand why you are saying this to me at 2:30!" So, they were rude and denied service to customers who would have paid a 5x markup for a piece of cake and tipped a waitress very well because they were closing... in a half an hour.

Experience #2 - We went to Stardust during the Greenbrier Classic this year. We made a reservation for 5:30. Door was open, and their sign said they open at 5:00, so we walked in at 5:05 to have a before-dinner drink. This time, it was the owner. "WE OPEN AT 5:30!" "Hello. We have a reservation at 5:30, we were going to get a dr--" "NO, WE OPEN AT 5:30. DO YOU HAVE A RESERVATION?" "Yes, we do at 5:30." "DO YOU HAVE A RESERVATION?" "Yes, we are saying this to you right now. And we were wondering if we could get a --" "WELL IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A RESERVATION YOU WILL NOT EAT TONIGHT." "We. do. have. a. reservation. at. 5.30." WELL WE OPEN AT 5:30, PLEASE DO NOT COME IN UNTIL EXACTLY 5:30." "Again, just so you know, your sign says 5:00."

This restaurant gets a lot of fanfare because people think it's the only one of its kind in the area ("farm to table!" "local produce!" "organic!" "no air conditioning!"). Honestly, in the Greenbrier Valley/Alleghany Highlands, a lot of restaurants are doing this already -- they have been since the beginning, and don't show it off. Go somewhere that appreciates your business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
My goodness it sounds as if you had an appalling experience, i think you may have the wrong restaurant. I am the owner so I can tell you that first of all, I am not in the restaurant at 5:30 and second of all, no one that works in my restaurant would ever respond to a customer in this way. I hire people who clearly reflect and understand that our primary mission is to 'shine the light on all that pass through our doors!"
I make it my job and my staff's mission, to make everyone that walks in, whether young or old, meek or mighty, to feel utterly respected and valued. I doubt that if it were otherwise, we would have such an extraordinarily successful business with so many rave reviews.
Our aim is to welcome all and provide service at an extraordinary level and we are acknowledged and praised throughout our every day for doing just. Thank you to all who have graced our lives for the last ten years of joy and love shared in our happy restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    48
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We happened to be in Lewisburg during the Greenbrier Classic, so all the restaurants were exceptionally busy. People were lining up outside of Stardust awaiting their opening for dinner. We waited outside for approximately 20 minutes, with the staff walking by us multiple times carrying/moving supplies. Once open, we were all told they were accepting reservations only and turned away. There was no sign. Worse, one of the staff could not have mentioned this to us on one of their trips through the line? Rude.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We LOVE LOVE LOVED this place!!!!! Soooooo fresh and wonderful!!!! Cannot possibly say enough good things! Wow!! We had dinner there one night while staying at The Greenbrier. It was so incredible we went back for lunch the next day!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much! We loved having you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A unique place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Once you get past a level of perceived pretentiousness, the food is quite good. We sat at the bar because it was so crowded. Very impressed with the quality of ingredients and the overall freshness of what we were eating. If you want prepared super quick food, go elsewhere. But if you want food that is made especially for you using real ingredients, go here. I had the hamburger and it was great. My wife had a Topanga Salad, which she raved about. My son had a pretty good grilled cheese and just devoured it. Good place and would go back again if ever in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing our efforts to make this a wonderful experience! We appreciate your taking the time to share this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had lunch at the Stardust Cafe. We all got the naked burger, and it was wonderful! Served with a really fresh salad which we all enjoyed. My only complaint-the nonexistent kids menu. They offered a grilled cheese with provolone (12 year old got, but not appealing to my 10 year old) or chicken and rice. She ended up with a salad with chicken, and oil and vinegar. That would be my only suggestion. Desserts were awesome, we had carrot cake, birthday cake, and the lemon tart.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for publicly recognizing our huge efforts to make your experience at our restaurant, a wonderful one. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stardust Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stardust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.