We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't worth the wait........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Cafe

Stardust Cafe
102 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-647-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Lewisburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It wasn't worth the wait........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have always enjoyed Stardust Cafe but based upon our experience Saturday evening, something is out of step there.

Although I had called earlier in the week and was assured a table in the front of the restaurant, the person who met us at the door was planning to take us to the middle of the restaurant until I asked her to seat us at the open table in the front. Apparently no note of my request on the reservation. She was not happy.

We were seated and proceeded to review the menu and make our selections. The Veggie Marinara was not available that evening because the zucchini was not appropriate for the dish. We substituted pasta and thought all was good.

No, the waitress returned and advised one of our guests that her item (salmon) was not available that evening. (why were these items even on the menu?)

We ordered our entrees, no appetizers, and a bowl of soup.

We arrived at 7:10, and the soup didn't arrive at our table for at least an hour we placed our order. No apologies, nothing. Then the waitress brought salads, which none of us were even aware came with our meal, and there was no opportunity to select a dressing.

The entrees were OK - really nothing great. The pasta had a lot of water on it and the grilled vegetables were sparse and without flavor. Unfortunately, 3 of us were served this dish. We should have stayed home - ours would have been better.

The entire meal really lacked, and the dessert selections were not inspiring. Cheesecake and a couple of others. We ordered coffee because it was always delicious, but no, it wasn't anything great either.

I don't know what's going on, but this used to be one of my favorite restaurants, but no longer. Dinner lasted 2 hours.

We had made the reservations and took some long time friends of ours who had never been there - we ended up being very embarrassed by the service and food.

Maybe lunch - but not dinner.

I don't know if the owner is out of town, or has just lost interest, but it is a far cry from our previous meal there 6 months ago.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    41
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fine Food-Fine Dining-Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Over the last seven years we have had quarterly occasions to visit in the Lewsburg, West Virginia area. We were thoroughly surprised to find a local restaurant on the main road through town that serves up absolutely great food. We make it a point to go after 1:00pm for lunch to savor the "Trust Me Salad" and/or the "Naked Burger." One cannot get seating around noon because the place is so crowded due to its popularity, hence the recommended 1:00pm show time. The atmosphere is most welcome, the service is excellent, the staff talks with you, even the chef on duty will talk with you! The staff promises me that there are absolutely no calories in any of their desserts prepared by a local bakery chef, I think a relative, so enjoy a great meal topped off with a mouth watering dessert. I promise you that you will return again and again as we have!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent bistro !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We attended on Saturday night with a group of 20 persons. The restaurant is not large but the tables had nice room between . The food and wine selection was enjoyed by all. The service was excellent and attentive. We had a peanut allergy that was handled professionally.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Superb Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Stardust Cafe is a gem of a restaurant on Lewisburg's main drag. It has the atmosphere of an American bistro, and an international vibe in this small West Virginia town. On our most recent visit, a Morrocan chicken dish was featured, along with a chicken curry with coconut milk. Both were authentic and delicious. The wine selection was good, with reasonable pricing. A house salad is served with most meals, though the menu could be clearer on that point. Many folks stop in for a delicious dessert and fine coffee, and perhaps to enjoy the inviting aromas, mood music and buzz of conversation that gives Stardust its vibe. Everything we have eaten here has been fresh, often locally sourced, and expertly prepared. Wish they had outdoor seating -- they would do it right!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wonderful lunch dining experience today. I truly cannot say how much I enjoyed it. Had the butternut squash soup and the sausage and cheese sandwich on ciabatta. The soup was very good and the sandwich was fantastic, terrific, amazing, and then some! Can't wait to go back again. It may have been a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. I would do it again in a heartbeat! Make this a definite stop on your trip here. I have eaten at many of the local restaurants and hands down, this meal has been the best to date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stardust Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stardust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.