We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Food-Fine Dining-Great Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Cafe

Stardust Cafe
102 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-647-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 restaurants in Lewisburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Fine Food-Fine Dining-Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Over the last seven years we have had quarterly occasions to visit in the Lewsburg, West Virginia area. We were thoroughly surprised to find a local restaurant on the main road through town that serves up absolutely great food. We make it a point to go after 1:00pm for lunch to savor the "Trust Me Salad" and/or the "Naked Burger." One cannot get seating around noon because the place is so crowded due to its popularity, hence the recommended 1:00pm show time. The atmosphere is most welcome, the service is excellent, the staff talks with you, even the chef on duty will talk with you! The staff promises me that there are absolutely no calories in any of their desserts prepared by a local bakery chef, I think a relative, so enjoy a great meal topped off with a mouth watering dessert. I promise you that you will return again and again as we have!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    106
    34
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent bistro !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We attended on Saturday night with a group of 20 persons. The restaurant is not large but the tables had nice room between . The food and wine selection was enjoyed by all. The service was excellent and attentive. We had a peanut allergy that was handled professionally.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Superb Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Stardust Cafe is a gem of a restaurant on Lewisburg's main drag. It has the atmosphere of an American bistro, and an international vibe in this small West Virginia town. On our most recent visit, a Morrocan chicken dish was featured, along with a chicken curry with coconut milk. Both were authentic and delicious. The wine selection was good, with reasonable pricing. A house salad is served with most meals, though the menu could be clearer on that point. Many folks stop in for a delicious dessert and fine coffee, and perhaps to enjoy the inviting aromas, mood music and buzz of conversation that gives Stardust its vibe. Everything we have eaten here has been fresh, often locally sourced, and expertly prepared. Wish they had outdoor seating -- they would do it right!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wonderful lunch dining experience today. I truly cannot say how much I enjoyed it. Had the butternut squash soup and the sausage and cheese sandwich on ciabatta. The soup was very good and the sandwich was fantastic, terrific, amazing, and then some! Can't wait to go back again. It may have been a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. I would do it again in a heartbeat! Make this a definite stop on your trip here. I have eaten at many of the local restaurants and hands down, this meal has been the best to date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywheresville
1 review
“Fun Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dining out for me is not just about the food, although I completely understand that it is for some people. Atmosphere is high on my list and the wait staff can make or break the entire experience. Regarding atmosphere, if a restaurant dresses a "dinner" table with a vinyl cover I'm probably going to have a problem. Even white paper over a white cloth will speak volumes over vinyl...I just don't get it. That being said, we have enjoyed the Stardust both at lunch time and dinner time (no vinyl ever, yea!). The food has been from really good to really great, the service has always been outstanding. The menu and drink selections are pretty impressive and better yet they change it up, which also rates high for me. This is a small space serving up a big experience so cut it a break if it's crowded and noisy at times. If you have to wait for a table, order a glass of wine and enjoy the people...Lewisburg always offers up a diverse crowd of folks. My very handsome husband and I had an awesome lunch experience right there in the middle of lunch hour rush on Labor Day. Rock on Stardust, you are clearly doing something right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrdes, Owner at Stardust Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Than you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stardust Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stardust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.