We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Better than Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Julians - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Julians
102 South Lafayette Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304.645.4145
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Atlanta
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Bit Better than Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The other reviews are right. The owner walks around drinking red wine and visits the customers. He wants everyone to be happy. The food is very good for the area. Seafood risotto was good but it was more like seafood stew with the amount of broth on top. My soft shelled crabs only 1 of the 3 had legs and 1 of them was burned black. So order cautiously, better to stick with items that are hard to mess up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth a return to Lewisburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

One of our best meals on our 2 week road trip. The owner actively runs the front end of the restaurant, greeting, and interacting with clients. He suggests wine, talks about the food. We were new folks, but he treated us like old friends. During the visit, it was obviously that the restaurant is strongly supported by the locals. He knew many of them and their likes/dislikes and we heard him make suggestions, etc.

Food is very nicely seasoned. Interesting combinations that are successful. Meals do not come with "soup or salad" but are large and we took portions of our entrees back to hotel with us (lucky us, had fridge and micro there).

For some reason my TomTom had a problem finding the location, but it is actually right on the corner just off the main drag -- when you see the front you see stairs - but there is a handicap accessible walkway accessed from the driveway of the muni parking lot just next door.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had the filet and it was one of the best steaks that I have had in quite a while. The decor in the restaurant is filled with pictures taken by the owner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is amazing! The food is awesome, the ambiance is great and the service is always top notch. This is the place to go if your in Lewisburg!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“West Virginia's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant for at least 15 years and having a second home in the area do so quite often. For my personal experience there isn't another public restaurant anywhere that has been as consistently good as Julians. I am not limiting that complement to Lewisburg or or West Virginia.
The food is excellent, wine selection superior and atmosphere very relaxing. I particularly like the availability of 1/2 bottles as it allows everyone to enjoy their favorite without compromising on a selection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julians also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.