We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One more Rave review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julians - CLOSED

Julians
102 South Lafayette Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304.645.4145
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One more Rave review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This place was great. The owner came out and talked and talked and talked. He went so far as to call a local event for us and ask what the entertainment was. I had some of the best bolognese around and My wife had the encrusted salmon. The service was top notch and of course the conversation was wonderful also. We will go back when we are in Lewisburg again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service in Eclectic and Unique Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We decided to eat at Julians based on an article we read in a magazine. We had a very nice dining experience. The interior and exterior are eclectic and interesting. The hostess, waitress, and owner were very courteous and friendly. They made sure we were comfortable, and made adjustments to the open window and AC without us having to ask.

We were recommended wines that were very good and new to us. Our appetizers, entrees, and desserts were very enjoyable. My husband had the lamb chops and was very happy with them. He had the cheesecake for dessert which he said was excellent. I had the blueberry mousse for dessert. I totally hate mousse and never order it, but for some reason, this time it was calling my name. It was absolutely fantastic. In fact, I went back and had it again a few days later. The coffee was excellent as well.

We found the owner/chef to eclectic and interesting, just like the restaurant. We didn't find him to be rude as some reviews mention. However, every day is different. Each personality is different and can be interesting and entertaining, depending on how you decide to receive it.

We enjoyed every aspect of our visit to Julians and we would certainly return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food, friendly service, good wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had the fresh halibut, and blue cheese radicchio salad and crab cakes.The place is small, so call ahead.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to say I enjoyed the food at Julians - fresh local ingredients obviously picked very carefully. My favorite was the fresh mozzerella. The restaurant is in a very quaint location in the heart of Lewisburg. Very charming from the Outside. My overall issue with the restaurant was the intimidating atmosphere of the restaurant. My friend and I felt a bit out of place amongst the high-class Lewisburg-ites whom the wait staff and owner seemed to be falling over themselves for. May be be worth a try - but be warned about the "feel of the restaurant."

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inconsistent but creative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This chef is a charachter. He seems to be pretty talented. I've had some great food there. But you just never know. It depends on the night. And he might sit down at your table and drink your wine! Which can be fun or annoying, depending on the night.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julians also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.