We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always tops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julians - CLOSED

Julians
102 South Lafayette Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304.645.4145
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
East Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We eat here about twice a month and it is, hands down, the best food in town. I don't think we have ever ordered the wine, but let Steve pick it out for us, and have always ended up with a great and reasonably priced bottle. The specials really are special and the menu is varied enough that we don't end up feeling in a rut.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“the best food, wine and atmosphere in west virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We eat here every time we go to Lewisburg, (1-2 times per year). The food is always fresh and delicious with an original twist. The owner is attentive and friendly and helpful in making wine selections for perfect pairings.

Julian's is a must if you want great food in a great atmosphere--makes the Greenbrier pale in comparison--

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Martinsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I wish I were there now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Julian's is a jewel. The food was most excellent, the wine was exceptional and the service was better. Steven the owner, sommelier, etc. is a heckuva character and exudes energy and enthusiasm. Avoid this place at your own peril

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great find in a city voted as one of the best small towns to visit. Hard to find a restaurant in which the owner/chef is engaged with his guests these days. I have had several meals at Julian's over the years and have never been disappointed. The selection of wines is comparable to the finest dining venues anywhere. Ask Steve to recommend a wine, he will pick one in your price range. Should be on your go to list in Lewisburg!

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV hills
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent, casual, quality, creative, worthy of stretching our budget for special occasions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I have been dining here since it opened, and appreciate the reliability of the food and almost always high quality and friendly service. Wine offerings are even more extensive than the menu, inspired by Steven's annual Mediterranean travel. Just ask. Original mosaic work and the owner's travel photography fill the walls of three small rooms. Menu is pricey and entirely a la carte, which imposes a limit on how often we can enjoy the fine food. Wine only, no beer or bar.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julians also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.