We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always tops”
Review of Julians

102 South Lafayette Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304.645.4145
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 38 restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Mediterranean
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    19
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Julians
See the most recent reviews
East Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

We eat here about twice a month and it is, hands down, the best food in town. I don't think we have ever ordered the wine, but let Steve pick it out for us, and have always ended up with a great and reasonably priced bottle. The specials really are special and the menu is varied enough that we don't end up feeling in a rut.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“the best food, wine and atmosphere in west virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We eat here every time we go to Lewisburg, (1-2 times per year). The food is always fresh and delicious with an original twist. The owner is attentive and friendly and helpful in making wine selections for perfect pairings.

Julian's is a must if you want great food in a great atmosphere--makes the Greenbrier pale in comparison--

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Martinsville, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I wish I were there now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Julian's is a jewel. The food was most excellent, the wine was exceptional and the service was better. Steven the owner, sommelier, etc. is a heckuva character and exudes energy and enthusiasm. Avoid this place at your own peril

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great find in a city voted as one of the best small towns to visit. Hard to find a restaurant in which the owner/chef is engaged with his guests these days. I have had several meals at Julian's over the years and have never been disappointed. The selection of wines is comparable to the finest dining venues anywhere. Ask Steve to recommend a wine, he will pick one in your price range. Should be on your go to list in Lewisburg!

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistent, casual, quality, creative, worthy of stretching our budget for special occasions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I have been dining here since it opened, and appreciate the reliability of the food and almost always high quality and friendly service. Wine offerings are even more extensive than the menu, inspired by Steven's annual Mediterranean travel. Just ask. Original mosaic work and the owner's travel photography fill the walls of three small rooms. Menu is pricey and entirely a la carte, which imposes a limit on how often we can enjoy the fine food. Wine only, no beer or bar.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julians also viewed

 

Been to Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.