We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

General Lewis Inn
301 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
304-645-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Service and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very charming restaurant and atmosphere. Great service. Food was good. My husband had the prime rib and liked it. I had the shrimp scampi which is not something I would typically order and it was good. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I wish they had a bit more variety on the menu. Very meat and potatoes. Enjoyed the warm bread and side salad. The peach cobbler was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food with historic atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We enjoyed our meal. Food was good and service was great. Husband had fried chicken and it was excellent. I had a filet and while it was good, it wasn't spectacular. My husband enjoyed the cheeseburger soup; salad was pretty basic. We had cherry cobbler for dessert, and it was just okay. Overall nice dining experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was from out of town visiting a long time friend. We decided to go there just for breakfast. Service was great, food was excellent and the historic atmosphere was wonderful. After breakfast my friend showed me all the antiques hung up in the antique hall. Very impressive collection. We were also told any room door that was open we could go in and look because it is also an inn. Rooms very very spacious and decorated very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“OK....overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for Easter Brunch. It was OK, quaint place to eat. We both had prime rib and it was just OK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fried chicken is quite the plateful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The portions are very large. 2 people can easily share the fried chicken dinner and it is very good. Comes with vegetables and choice of potato. Service was very good and while the restaurant was not crowded on Fri night it was very full Sat and for brunch on Sun.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lewis Inn also viewed

 

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.