We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried chicken is quite the plateful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

General Lewis Inn
301 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
304-645-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fried chicken is quite the plateful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The portions are very large. 2 people can easily share the fried chicken dinner and it is very good. Comes with vegetables and choice of potato. Service was very good and while the restaurant was not crowded on Fri night it was very full Sat and for brunch on Sun.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central City, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Colonial Williamsburg tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Prompt service considering we were a bus tour of 31 people. Interesting house full of antique furnishings, that is currently for sale. The food was very good. Prime rib might have been ambitious for this group, hard to please everyone with beef.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“loved it so much I got married there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I regularly travel to the area for business and always stay at the General Lewis Inn. I loved it so much I got married in their garden. The food is also wonderful!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Retreat in Time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A calm restful inn to take time to reconnect to friends and family. I love the food and the service was great. It is like taking a step back in time with the decor and the furnishings. Reminds us to slow down and enjoy our company.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip into the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is good but don't expect great food and the dining experience is more upscale hotel than fine dining (it is after all an Inn). The Inn is full of character and charm and history. I loved eating and thinking about who had been in the Inn and what types of events had occurred in that Historic Spot.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lewis Inn also viewed

 

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.