We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious stop on the way to Snowshoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

General Lewis Inn
301 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
304-645-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious stop on the way to Snowshoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Delicious and charming place for lunch. We stopped on the way to Snowshoe for a quick skiing trip. It was so good we decided to stop on the way back. Extremely friendly wait staff. The tomato soup, reuben sandwich and cherry cobbler was the best we had ever had. Everyone loved what they had including the hard to please kids. Restaurant is located in an historic Lewisburg bed and breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    49
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Budget Travel magazine named Lewisburg, WV as the Coolest Small Town in America, and once you visit, I think you may agree. The general Lewis Inn is a particular treasure. My husband and I stayed at the the Inn for our second anniversary many years ago. Our children have heard about it many times, so it was a particular pleasure to take them, along with my sister, nephew, and parents to the Inn for their famous Sunday Brunch. Aside from the extreme charm of the Inn itself, the food is fresh and expertly prepared. I ordered the Eggs Benedict. Slicing into the poached egg, we notice that the yolk was a bright orange color, indicating that it was fresh from cage free hens. (We later learned that the eggs, along with the other ingredients used at the inn, are purchased from local farms whenever possible.) Not only was the color beautiful, but the aroma was amazing, prompting my normally picky teen to request a taste. She liked it as much as I did, so I gave her half of it in exchange for half of her brunch. Hers was baked brie drizzled with honey and topped with pecans, crackers and fresh fruit. My dad ordered the Redneck Benedict, a biscuit halved, and topped with country sausage gravy and fried eggs. All brunch items are accompanied by country potatoes fried with onions. Everything was fresh and so yummy, and the service was excellent. Afterwards we were able to look around the Inn. The hostess at the front desk told us to "feel free to look in any rooms that are open." The rooms are furnished in antiques, but also have private baths and TVs. Be sure to read about the history of the Inn. Two rooms, 206 and 210 are said to be haunted. We will most assuredly return to the Inn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm! Very Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sunday Brunch was awesome! The wait staff was very attentive, obviously well-trained and strived to make sure we were well-fed and pleased with our experience. We will return every chance we get!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had breakfast twice and dinner once at the General Lewis Inn Restaurant. Wonderful service all three times. This was some good cooking! I don't normally eat at hotel restaurants, but do not pass up on eating here. This was some of the best food I had on my entire trip. Even better than my lunch at the Greenbrier Resort. And I guarantee you will not go away humgry!! And don't pass up the homemade jam and apple butter at breakfast - yum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a Sunday brunch at the General Lewis Inn. The fruit and oatmeal brunch special was fresh and delicious. I also had the squeezed orange juice which was amazing. The ambiance is charming and friendly. It feels like home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lewis Inn also viewed

 

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.