We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

General Lewis Inn
301 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
304-645-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasteful in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast there twice, and both times, we were treated in a relaxed, friendly, yet efficient way. The food is basically along old southern cooking lines, and just unbelievably good-the feathery biscuits must come down from the sky! The value is extremely high. Chintz table toppers with matching napkins add charm, as well as the garden bouquets in small vases. You'll never find better staff anywhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was okay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I loved the building and the furnishings. The food was not that great. The service was less then I expected also. No refills were offered on the water or iced tea. The prime rib was dry and overcooked. I was glad I went to experience the old building but would probably not do it again for dinner. I did have a very large group so that may have played a role in the food and service. However, I made reservations a month in advance so it was not a surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service, uninspired food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The thing that surprised and disappointed me about the food here was the resolute lack of fresh flavor. From the canned peaches in the sauce for the dry pork to the greasy potatoes to the dull spinach, I was struck by how easy it would be able to source better, more local ingredients in a richly agricultural area like Greenbrier County. Other, similarly priced restaurants in town do it. Why not here?

On the bright side, the room is charming and the service is professional and friendly, which always helps.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Family Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our family of 4 ventured over to the General Lewis Inn from the Greenbrier for a nice Saturday breakfast. We were greeted by the current owner and seated promptly. Our waitress was very nice and friendly - gave us a quick history of the Inn. The food was quite good - grits, b&g, country ham. Nothing overly fancy, but everything was tasty and the service was very good. The Sunday Brunch menu was more extensive than the regular breakfast menu. A nice place to eat if you're staying at the Greenbrier and want to go off-property for a meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lunch and a tour of the Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I were considering staying at this inn however, since other family members already booked at another location, we went with the group. We did come to the General Lewis Inn for lunch. The Inn was very beautiful with historic items to view both inside and out. I asked the front desk if we could see a room after we ate our lunch and she told us that we could walk around and view any room that has the door open. For lunch I had the Philly Cheese Steak special and it was amazing. My family who ate with me had different salads that were very large proportion and were hardy. The service was good and the restaurant was heavily decorated with antiques and war memorabilia. We really enjoyed our lunch. We did view the rooms after we ate and they were very nice. They had a lot of antique furniture and were much different than a standard hotel. I am sad to say that many of the rooms were very small. I suggest that if you stay here to view the rooms first, or ask to choose your room once you arrive. Some of the rooms have the sinks and vanity in the room rather than in the bathroom. If you don't mind the tight spaces, I would definitely recommend you check it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lewis Inn also viewed

 

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.