We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Lewisburg/White Sulphur Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food & Friends

Food & Friends
213 W Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1322
304-645-4548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best place in Lewisburg/White Sulphur Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went with a group; had a great meal with a good diverse menu selection, quality food, great service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    67
    28
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Friendship, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GOOD TRIP BEGINNING!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Lewisburg, WV was the first stop in our month-long trip to wherever. Our hotel recommended Food & Friends and we were pleasantly surprised. The venue is comfortable, the service good and the food very good. We had locally-sourced beef and fish and enjoyed our meal and a glass of wine to end our first day. They have a wonderful gourmet candy counter as you leave and we could not resist a piece each to take back to our hotel. Comfortable little town with a pleasant restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had heard this was a really good place to eat. However, upon arrival even though we had reservations They acted like They werent expecting us and our table was not ready. We Did not feel welcomed by any of the staff. The food was ok but pricey. We def were not impressed and not likely to return in the future.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Service slow, good bread and entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had a recent birthday dinner here while passing through. My husband and I split the grouper special, which was topped with scampi sauce. We needed to ask for more scampi sauce (which required multiple flagging downs of our server) but once we added more sauce, it was excellent.
The bread, served in terra-cotta flower pots, was excellent. And do try the peanut butter pie, which is also quite tasty.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First time trip advisor steered me wrong! Not good food for the price and location (lewisburg is so quaint and beautiful). I ordered the steak wrap - it was shaved fatty beef, not steak at all! Lettuce and tomatoes were wilted and tasteless - unacceptable for this time of year! Dressing had no flavor, feta cheese was cheap. I omitted the salad after looking around at other tables - all iceberg lettuce. My husband and nephew enjoyed their greasy burger and Reuben, so if you're interested in fattening average food this is the place for you! We should have revisited the Stardust Cafe up the street - for the same price we could have enjoyed fresh local food, good salad, sustainable beef and chicken. Much healthier and tastier!!!

The only positive for me was the attentive service. I actually had to turn down a drink refilll.

Will not be back. Fast food would have been 1/3 of the price and probably better! They had a good lunch crowd on a Tuesday, so business should be good enough to improve the quality of food!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food & Friends also viewed

 

Been to Food & Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food & Friends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.