We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food & Friends

Food & Friends
213 W Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1322
304-645-4548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We Liked It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unlike some of the other reviews, we found the food and service to be very good! We were promptly greeted and seated. The crab bite appetizer, though ordinary, was very good. My husband had beef that was exceptionally tender and tasty. I had Meditterranean salmon which was also very flavorful. The bread pudding dessert was amazing! The atmosphere was cozy. Would definitely recommend this place if you are in the quaint town of Lewisburg WV.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    62
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were greeted warmly. Seated promptly. Served quickly. Meals were prepared perfectly. Everything was delicious! Servers were friendly. This town is fantastic!! We will visit Lewisburg and this eatery again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I had the afternoon to spend in Lewisburg and decided to have lunch at Food and Friends in the beautiful downtown area. We arrived shortly after noon on a Friday. The restaurant was busy but not packed. The hostess was busy ringing out a customer ahead of us and picking up a to go order for another customer. She acknowledged our presence but did not smile and was not warm or welcoming. She seated us when finished with the other customers.

The restaurant itself is very quaint and clean. Our booth was nice and cozy for a couples meal with tablecloth and fresh flowers. It was refreshing to have cloth napkins when so many restaurants go cheap with paper. Our waitress was wonderful, welcoming us with conversation and genuine smiles. She took our drinks orders and promptly delivered them.

We each got a sandwich, the Mesquite Grill chicken sandwich with beer-battered fries, and the other a Chicken Salad croissant with the sweet potato waffle fries. Our sandwiches arrived quickly, fries hot and fresh, and looking wonderful, The presentation was gorgeous. We each enjoyed our meals and would rate the food top notch, definitely deserving of five stars.

The meals were filling without leaving us ready for a nap, so we skipped dessert (despite how tempting the menu looked). Our waitress took our payment, brought our receipt and gave such excellent service. As we left the hostess could not be bothered to acknowledge us, even with a smile as she was busy speaking with staff. This is disappointing for what was otherwise a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place is highly overrated. Everyone is snobby acting and the food is average. The menu is HIGHLY overpriced. It's an okay place to eat but could be greatly improved. If you wanna drop $100 on average food then go ahead but if not I suggest eating somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Food and friends is a great eating place evidenced by the fact it's always bust. Love their salad sampler.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food & Friends also viewed

 

Been to Food & Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food & Friends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.