We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be a hit or miss kind of place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Food & Friends

Food & Friends
213 W Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1322
304-645-4548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must be a hit or miss kind of place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I had read some good reviews but the evening we went, we waited 20 mins on our drink order, another 30 for the appetizers, which were so-so and then after another hour got tired of waiting on our entrees and left. Another thing was the manager didn't comp anything and acted as though he didn't care at all. Across the street is Del Sol....excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    72
    30
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to the area. We came up for the state fair. We went on a Friday night and got seated right away. There were 5 of us and everyone really enjoyed their meals. They had the best house ranch dressing I've ever had! Great place to eat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a party of 7 people we were sat at 7pm & by 9pm our food hadn't even been started. We asked the waitress about it & was told the grill was backed up. After we said something to her about the manager not even coming to speak to us the manager finally came & apologized but didn't offer to comp any food or drinks & told us our food hadn't even been started. We finally told him we wanted our check & don't worry about the food. He said sorry & still didn't offer to comp a drink or appetizer. The waitress did the best she could but the management was a sorry excuse. Would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie P, Public Relations Manager at Food & Friends, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are very sorry that your experience at Food & Friends was poor. We take great pride in our work and are always very disappointed when customers are not satisfied. We would like to discuss these issues with you as well as your bill. Please contact us at 304.645.4548
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homemade Food in a Cozy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unbelievable value and huge portions! Wonderful menu offering homemade pastas, steaks, hamburgers, gourmet salads and desserts. Handmade chocolates for sale in the front of the restaurant. Simple wine list. Great service. Perfect for lunch or dinner. On the main street in downtown historic Lewisburg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner on the first night of our vacation. I had the steak, baked potato, vegetables and salad. My husband had the fried oysters, mashed potatoes, vegetables and soup. We had cheese fries for an appetizer and bread pudding for dessert. Our entrees were delicious. I'd put that steak up against any steakhouse out there. It was spot on. My husband grew up on the Eastern Shore and said the oysters were the best he's had. He liked the dessert but I thought it was chewy and tough. Soup and salad were standard. We also bought some chocolate before we left. The food was wonderful but the price was really high for what they served in all fronts. And I wasn't crazy about the chocolate either. I would definitely recommend this place but with a caution sticker about the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food & Friends also viewed

 

Been to Food & Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food & Friends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.