We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good bagel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery on Court Strret

The Bakery on Court Strret
102 N. Court St., Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-1106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Had a good bagel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Not an NYC bagel, but not bad. Definitely above a 'roll' that most people call a bagel. One review said they drove 3 hours for the bagels. For that, I'd drive to NY.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent bagel and great baked goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I am a huge bagel fan so I was a bit skeptical to read that someone travels 3 hrs to get bagels from here. I understand and support the other reviewer in their decision to do this. Chewy, but soft these are some of the finest bagels I have had. They require just enough bite, clamp, and pull to truly distinguish themselves from bread without making your mouth sore with chewing. At 14 for a dozen they are definitely more expensive than a grocery store purchase. They also have a small deli/sandwich counter and what appeared to be beautiful pizza(very large slices) made in their brick oven. We also had a kitchen sink cookie and 7 layer bar, both which were nicely sized, tender and great after lunch treat. The bakery appears to provide goods to local restaurants and carry loaf bread from another local baker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Terrific bagels, amazing pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Bakery is a blend of deli, sandwiches, pastry, pizza, coffee, salads...it is really a take out since I think it only has two tables...and sometimes it is necessary to reserve your bagels unless you are going to be in early. The sometimes have a luncheon meat pizza that is breathtaking, their pastry is really, really good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Bagels......EVER!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I drive for 3 hrs just to get their salt bagels!!!!!! They are the best bagels we have found!!!!! When we get a desire for them we call ahead and order a dozen or two to bring back home to Ohio with us. I put them in the frig and take them out and throw them in the toaster and bam, just as good as when I got them fresh!!!!!!! If your in the area I would HIGHLY recommend you stop by and the owners and workers there are SUPER nice!!!!!!!! (And yes we drive for 3 hrs. just for them)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place was a terrific value and the food was excellent. I enjoyed the hot open roast beef sandwich on one occasion and the chicken salad on another. The bread was freshly baked and the dessert offerings looked excellent, although I did not indulge. This is a nice take out only lunch with a friendly staff and great food. I strongly suggest giving this charming establishment a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery on Court Strret also viewed

 

Been to The Bakery on Court Strret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery on Court Strret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.