We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular says Stay Away Monday Lunch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of China Palace

China Palace
409 N Jefferson St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-6235
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 40 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Regular says Stay Away Monday Lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at this place many times over the years when immediate food is the primary desire. Lunch on a recent Monday was So bad I chose to write a negative review. Old over refrigerated food barely heated and screaming breeding ground! Will not return at lunch early in the week ant time soon. Disappointed too manta times:(

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Spring, West Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family has dined at this restaurant many times over the years and the food has always been what I would rate as above average for Chinese fare. We normally get take-out but during the times we have dined in, the service has always been top notch.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not too bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Only Buffet, was passing through town and had not tried this one before. If you are really hungry and on a tight budget and not real fussy about food this is the place. Buffet was around 12 dollars per person, all you can eat. My best advice, sample a small amount of items you think you will like then choose. Won ton soup was horrible, but some of the entrees were OK, the fried items were the best. (not the best choice..but if hungry..you will eat it). The ribs were not bad, a little tough but not fatty. Chicken dishes were pretty tasty, fried rice was good...enough to get you by and the deserts were the best part of the meal. I am not a real fussy eater so if you are looking for fine chinese this is probably not the place. I did see many people make 7-8 trips to the tables with mounds of food, but I would say this is a "quantity" rather than "quality" dining adventure. Staff were very friendly and seemed like there were a fair amount of locals here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good / Average Chinese Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

China Palace of Lewisburg has a good selection of Chinese food to choose from. Overall the food is pretty good. It's nice to go there if you want something good to eat and don't want to wait for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food was ok, Service Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pretty standard Chinese fare in a buffet-style restaurant, although they did have several items, including a fried section with cheese bites, potatoes, etc.

They did have four different types of sush on the buffet, which was nice.

Service was good. My total was $12.32 for dinner buffet, drink, and tax.

I didn't try their "bubble teas", which seems to be something which could set the restaurant apart from other Chinese buffets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.