We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we had dinner here in February, and it was excellent. there were three of us, and we had the pork belly, the beet salad and the wedge salad. Each was very good. The pork belly was everything this NYC girl had dreamt of. For the entrees, we had the trout, the rib eye and the short ribs. Each was expertly prepared. The service was very attentive, without being clingy. The restaurant is quiet and the tables far apart. We felt quite pampered which was what we needed that day. It is, however, very expensive, so I don't know when we will go back, but again, the food is superb.

I do wish they would stock the local Smooth Ambler 10-year bourbon, which we had tasted at the nearby Irish bar on our last visit. It's pretty cool to have a distinguished distillery in town, and I was surprised they only had the Ambler vodka. Artisanal bourbons are pretty popular now, moving in on the territory that single malts had a few years ago.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I needed a "snack" before we went to a late evening BBQ in Lewisburg, WV, so we decided to stop in at the Livery for their cheese/chacuterie plate and a couple glasses of wine. The cheese was sufficient, but there was very little chacuterie (meat) that we paid extra for. Our total bill was over 50.00 for this small amount of food and 2 glasses of wine. We still enjoyed ourselves on their patio, but we probably won't return due to the high cost.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had planned to go to Stella's but they were busy so they sent us to The Livery. We were greeted with a big smile and welcoming service. Our server was amazing and really knew his wine, the town and food. I had a wonderful and different caesar salad and my friend had a great cheese board. Our server was also generous with his wine pourings..... Several people came into the bar area later and the atmosphere and building are beautiful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our late evening midweek visit may not be indicative of busier times at the Livery, but we had a very quiet and relaxing dining experience. The wine list provided many good options and our waiter was top notch ... very good at explaining menu items that we were not familiar with and no hesitation with our desire to have them split a salad (ceasar w/brussel sprouts) back in the kitchen. The breads and appetizers we tried are very good too! Although the prices are a bit on the high side, you are paying for a quality meal. We really liked the casual yet classy atmosphere at the Livery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The restaurant is decorated beautifully, very cozy and welcoming. Our waitress was very pleasant and accommodating. Some of us were hungrier than others and she made no fuss about splitting salads (do not miss out on the Caesar salad, yum) or a few having an appetizer for an entree. My husband and I are from MO and were not familiar with the local drafts or wines listed so we tried before final decisions were made. My meal was fantastic, ravioli stuffed with crab in a garlic wine sauce. The menu was filled with choices I would love to try sometime, can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.