We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I needed a "snack" before we went to a late evening BBQ in Lewisburg, WV, so we decided to stop in at the Livery for their cheese/chacuterie plate and a couple glasses of wine. The cheese was sufficient, but there was very little chacuterie (meat) that we paid extra for. Our total bill was over 50.00 for this small amount of food and 2 glasses of wine. We still enjoyed ourselves on their patio, but we probably won't return due to the high cost.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had planned to go to Stella's but they were busy so they sent us to The Livery. We were greeted with a big smile and welcoming service. Our server was amazing and really knew his wine, the town and food. I had a wonderful and different caesar salad and my friend had a great cheese board. Our server was also generous with his wine pourings..... Several people came into the bar area later and the atmosphere and building are beautiful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our late evening midweek visit may not be indicative of busier times at the Livery, but we had a very quiet and relaxing dining experience. The wine list provided many good options and our waiter was top notch ... very good at explaining menu items that we were not familiar with and no hesitation with our desire to have them split a salad (ceasar w/brussel sprouts) back in the kitchen. The breads and appetizers we tried are very good too! Although the prices are a bit on the high side, you are paying for a quality meal. We really liked the casual yet classy atmosphere at the Livery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The restaurant is decorated beautifully, very cozy and welcoming. Our waitress was very pleasant and accommodating. Some of us were hungrier than others and she made no fuss about splitting salads (do not miss out on the Caesar salad, yum) or a few having an appetizer for an entree. My husband and I are from MO and were not familiar with the local drafts or wines listed so we tried before final decisions were made. My meal was fantastic, ravioli stuffed with crab in a garlic wine sauce. The menu was filled with choices I would love to try sometime, can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not A Pleasant Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Tonight March 13th, a business associate and I made a 7:15 PM reservation at your restaurant the Livery Tavern. We were a bit early about 6:55 PM - no one was manning the door but after a few seconds a pleasant young woman from behind the bar greeted us and arranged for us to be seated in a booth. The menu and wine list were on the table; although the restaurant was not busy no one approached our table. One waiter served appetizers to the table next to us and water to the booth behind us but refused to make eye contact with us. Another young man was talking outside the front door of the restaurant on his phone. After waiting 20 minutes with no acknowledgement of our presence, we decided it would be best to leave. Before leaving we approached the bar where three employees were chatting and mentioned that the service was nonexistent. A young man followed us out of the restaurant and asked where we're seated - a sad commentary for a restaurant that was not busy. After the drive from DC this was an unpleasant experience - tomorrow night's dinner that was scheduled for Stella's will be cancelled.

Sent from my iPad

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.