We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Menu and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
+1 304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our late evening midweek visit may not be indicative of busier times at the Livery, but we had a very quiet and relaxing dining experience. The wine list provided many good options and our waiter was top notch ... very good at explaining menu items that we were not familiar with and no hesitation with our desire to have them split a salad (ceasar w/brussel sprouts) back in the kitchen. The breads and appetizers we tried are very good too! Although the prices are a bit on the high side, you are paying for a quality meal. We really liked the casual yet classy atmosphere at the Livery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The restaurant is decorated beautifully, very cozy and welcoming. Our waitress was very pleasant and accommodating. Some of us were hungrier than others and she made no fuss about splitting salads (do not miss out on the Caesar salad, yum) or a few having an appetizer for an entree. My husband and I are from MO and were not familiar with the local drafts or wines listed so we tried before final decisions were made. My meal was fantastic, ravioli stuffed with crab in a garlic wine sauce. The menu was filled with choices I would love to try sometime, can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not A Pleasant Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Tonight March 13th, a business associate and I made a 7:15 PM reservation at your restaurant the Livery Tavern. We were a bit early about 6:55 PM - no one was manning the door but after a few seconds a pleasant young woman from behind the bar greeted us and arranged for us to be seated in a booth. The menu and wine list were on the table; although the restaurant was not busy no one approached our table. One waiter served appetizers to the table next to us and water to the booth behind us but refused to make eye contact with us. Another young man was talking outside the front door of the restaurant on his phone. After waiting 20 minutes with no acknowledgement of our presence, we decided it would be best to leave. Before leaving we approached the bar where three employees were chatting and mentioned that the service was nonexistent. A young man followed us out of the restaurant and asked where we're seated - a sad commentary for a restaurant that was not busy. After the drive from DC this was an unpleasant experience - tomorrow night's dinner that was scheduled for Stella's will be cancelled.

Sent from my iPad

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
“AWESOME Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've had at least 3 WONDERFUL meals at The Livery. Each time we've had friendly, easy service with great food! Steaks and seafood are delish...definitely try the Caesar salad with brussel sprouts!!!! They have great desserts and wine list. A treat for all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our second visit to Livery, and we were lucky to get in without a reservation, as the tavern filled quickly. Great food and wine! A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it. The cream of cauliflower soup was "to die for" and I am hoping I can search out a recipe on the internet.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.