We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
“AWESOME Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've had at least 3 WONDERFUL meals at The Livery. Each time we've had friendly, easy service with great food! Steaks and seafood are delish...definitely try the Caesar salad with brussel sprouts!!!! They have great desserts and wine list. A treat for all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our second visit to Livery, and we were lucky to get in without a reservation, as the tavern filled quickly. Great food and wine! A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it. The cream of cauliflower soup was "to die for" and I am hoping I can search out a recipe on the internet.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Yummo! I enjoyed the trout almondine, which was wonderful! The service was great, the prices were average and my overall experience was top notch. The restaurant is situated in an a quaint older building and has a nice bar area. I highly recommend giving this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Lewisburg Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It took us three tries to get to a dinner at the Livery in Lewisburg - first time was their opening which was sold out, second time was a private party, but we did get in October 2013! The owners shared stories with us before our visit and we were enchanted to hear they used the cherry tree harvest from Stella's to build their bar and entrance door - sweet! We had an early dinner, the fireplace wasn't lit until later in the evening and our service guide was Alex, very nice gentleman.

Initial service was great - but the food took much longer than ancitipated for this early in the evening. Portions are what we would consider "post-modern" where emphasis is on fine combination of ingredients and picture perfect presentation. If you want to feel satiated, be certain to order an appetizer and dessert. The lamb chops were wonderful, not overcooked and flavorful; the oysters Rockefeller were unfortunately a little cool by the time they were served.

The atmosphere is comforting and wonderful, service is great, but unfortunately the food was average at best. We hope for better as we go back to the Greenbrier twice a year and love their location and history!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“A touch of heaven in Lewiburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A United States Marine Corps. General's sword and flag displayed in tribute over a roaring fireplace is the focal point at entry. His militery brat children run this amazingly friendly and wonderful restaurant. I never got an answer as to where they found the chef but he or she is 5 star. I definite must not miss and see for yourself. Be sure to stop by the bar where locals sit and sample foods that water your mouth. Say hello to Stacy there for a great smile and good drink.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.