We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An option to Greenbrier's food plan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An option to Greenbrier's food plan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We chose not to get the Greenbrier's food plan having heard that it was somewhat lackluster. We took the 11 mile drive to Lewisburg to the Livery Tavern. We really enjoyed our meal which included some unusual touches. The waiter was right on with his recommendations - I loved the duck and the wine he suggested with it. We would have gone back for a second night, but did try the Greenbrier's Italian restaurant - we should have gone back to the Livery Tavern.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great service & food but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The service and the food at this restaurant is definitely top notch. The veal sweetbreads appetizer and filet mignon entree that I enjoyed were both melt-in-your-mouth delicious and the others in my party bragged on the homemade pasta, duck, and Alaskan salmon. The average person may feel that it is a little over-priced, but great quality service and food demands a little more from the consumer.

My main issue would be the fact that the main dining area is a little noisy. The area is very open with tables placed close together and on the night we dined, there was a fair sized group at a table which ramped up the noise level. No one was out-of-hand, but the roar of the crowd would not have made for an intimate dinner for two. Since we were a party of four, it didn't really bother us, but it would affect a future decision if I desired a quiet dinner night out. Other than that, the atmosphere and decor were very nice and I will definitely return - might consider dining outside if the weather is right and perhaps the noise level won't be as bad out there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Imaginative, tast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Portions were healthfully sized. Great condiments and touches left us satisfied but not stuffed. Great wait staff. Musician was excellent too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We finally gave The Livery a try. Being local, we had watched the construction and eventual opening of this new restaurant. Friends had gone there and gave good reports about the food and the ambience, but many had mentioned the high prices. They were accurate. An appetizer of cheese and fruit, two entries, no drinks, and no dessert came to $78. Add the tip and we walked out for just under $100. My wife's crab cakes and shrimp were delicious. My rack of lamb was tough. A bad choice on my part. The waiter was great. The ambience superb. For those who can afford it, the Livery is a great choice. We can't afford it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A terrific find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The service ,the food and the ambience were perfect. We Dined out side on the terrace it was a perfect summer evening and a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.