We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real stand-out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Glen Rose, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A real stand-out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Our evening at Livery Tavern is one I won't soon forget. The chef is doing amazing things with local products. There is a great vibe at the restaurant - lively but not jangling. Our waiter, Allen, was such a warm and professional addition to the evening. Ask for him - he will treat you right. You won't regret stopping here for a wonderful, regional, fresh experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Located on E Washington Street in central Lewisburg.

Adequate on-street parking.

We arrived early, around 5:30, because of a 7 pm meeting later that evening. The restaurant was empty but filled rapidly over the next hour. Acoustics were good for quiet conversation in our booth. Bar seemed to be lively, mostly 30-somethings.

Our server Emily was attentive and helpful. My wife and I split fried oyster appetizer. Best fried oysters I have ever eaten. Generally this dish is prepared with way too much breading and is overcooked, but our oysters were on the "rare" side, if they can be described that way, and were delicious. I had trout entree while my wife had the "8-hour ribs." Both were excellent, though the ribs deserve a particular shout out. This was the first order of ribs I've seen that came without bones. It was flavorful, tender enough to eat with a fork alone, and the sauce was outstanding. I should point out that we were astonished by how quickly the food had been prepared. For dessert we split the chocolate bread pudding and a glass of Sauterne.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hands-down the best meal we had in lewisburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

everything we had was flavor profile perfection. the chef here knows what he/she is doing! the atmosphere is warm and lovely and i was wishing i had a reason to just hang out on the couch in front of the fireplace but we were there to dine. the waitress was so incredibly pleasant and attentive and the manager (or owner) was also so sweet and friendly. but the food was really oh-my-goodness good! we have traveled to so many places and to think we would have a meal this incredible in lewisburg took us by surprise. i had the crispy pork belly appetizer and savored each and every bite as long as i could. i had the lamb shank entree and was loving the tenderness of the lamb and the vegetables were so delicious! the wine list was nice as was the drink menu. you must try the livery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Livery Tavern on a Wednesday. There was a nice crowd and atmosphere is cozy. They are now on Open Table. I ordered the 8-hour short ribs which were excellent. Great wine list. Lewisburg has several nice restaurant choices, and this is one of the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just a nice place to go relax and have a great glass of wine or a nice cocktail plus a wonderful meal. The ambiance is very upscale but yet totally comfortable. The owners have done an amazing job with this new entry to the Lewisburg market. It's not a cheap date but reasonably price for what you get. Enjoy it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.