We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hands-down the best meal we had in lewisburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hands-down the best meal we had in lewisburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

everything we had was flavor profile perfection. the chef here knows what he/she is doing! the atmosphere is warm and lovely and i was wishing i had a reason to just hang out on the couch in front of the fireplace but we were there to dine. the waitress was so incredibly pleasant and attentive and the manager (or owner) was also so sweet and friendly. but the food was really oh-my-goodness good! we have traveled to so many places and to think we would have a meal this incredible in lewisburg took us by surprise. i had the crispy pork belly appetizer and savored each and every bite as long as i could. i had the lamb shank entree and was loving the tenderness of the lamb and the vegetables were so delicious! the wine list was nice as was the drink menu. you must try the livery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Livery Tavern on a Wednesday. There was a nice crowd and atmosphere is cozy. They are now on Open Table. I ordered the 8-hour short ribs which were excellent. Great wine list. Lewisburg has several nice restaurant choices, and this is one of the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just a nice place to go relax and have a great glass of wine or a nice cocktail plus a wonderful meal. The ambiance is very upscale but yet totally comfortable. The owners have done an amazing job with this new entry to the Lewisburg market. It's not a cheap date but reasonably price for what you get. Enjoy it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stopped in to have cocktails. We sat at the bar. The bartender was knowledgable, personable and a pleasure to talk with. The place was neatly decorated and just gave you that cozy feeling. I will definatly revisit if in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lack luster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

From the outside the place looks warm and inviting, but inside not so much. The first thing that you notice is the stark lighting in the front bar area and then the lack of lighting in the back section of the bar. The hostess was very personal and sat us quickly. The waiter arrived in due time. The first thing we noticed was the limited menu selection. But we did key in on they had Mac & Cheese but it was only available in the bar(?). So we placed our order and asked the waiter if we get the Mac & Cheese as a side dish. He then reacted oddly by looking to his left & right, acting if he was a spy and we had asked for information detrimental to the security of the United States and blurted out, the Mac & Cheese was sold out. The fried chicken entrees arrived quickly, but not as described in the menu. We realized it was it was all dark meat and the size of the pieces of chicken were extremely small. There was no biscuit as per the menu but there was a lump of starch which we later learned was cheese grits. When we brought the discrepancies to the waiter at the end of the meal, he acknowledged the entrees were incorrect and hastily asked us if we wanted dessert. We declined, paid the tab and flew out the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.